How to set family instance variables

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:24 am

Sorry guys, a bit of a newbie question yet again for you all. I'm just playing around with things and I have created a family for objects I want moving across the screen. As I want each different object type under the family to move at different speeds I want to create an instance variable to set this in.

Now I have read the instructions here https://www.scirra.com/manual/142/families and it says that once you setup a family instance variable it should then be on the object itself. Unfortunately there is non showing up for me.

I'm sure there must be a way to do this though and I must be missing something pretty obvious. Is there a way to easily set the instance variables for individual objects under a family?

Thanks in advance for your help!
B
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 220

Post » Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:43 am

Click on the object, and click on Instance Variable in the properties window.





You can also set an instance variable while you have the family object highlighted. That instance variable is true for all objects that are part of the family. And will also show up in the image above.

ArcadEd2013-06-04 04:45:32
B
100
S
31
G
11
Posts: 1,552
Reputation: 21,522

Post » Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:02 am

Thanks heaps for your help, that's exactly what I was looking for. I was trying to set it by right clicking the object under the properties tab and editing the variable that way (which obviously doesn't work!)

I knew there would have been an easy way to do it, and I knew I would have felt stupid after being told ;) but hey we all have to start somewhere!

Thanks again.
B
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 220


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ankas and 7 guests