How to stick particles ?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:40 pm

Hi
I'm trying to create a sadistic platform game (like IWBTG for example) and I wonder if there is a way to stick blood generated by particles against objects around (actually, Tiled Background), and how?

I'm pretty new to Construct, but I've already followed the Ghost Shooter tutorial and I am currently following the Platform School tutorial.

(By the way, I'm French, so excuse me if I make some spelling mistakes )
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 508

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:56 pm

"sadistic platform game" i love it already!
I don't think it's posiible to "glue" particles to another objects.
You could try canvas and imaga manipulator - to copy and paste particles into a sprite - just thinking out load.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:05 am

you'll have to use sprites as particles i'm afraid
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:49 pm

Thanks for your replies.

So I have to recreate a particle system with sprites ?
Somebody can explain to me how ? Or give me a tutorial ?

(I have another question, how can I make a "smooth" zoom ? Not an immediate zoom, but a progressive from (100, 100) to (50, 50) for example)
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 508

Post » Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:23 am

I wrote a little sample with a Screen-sized Canvas

BloodOnScreen.cap

Something like this? GameForger2011-07-18 09:27:06
B
4
S
1
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 997

Post » Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:04 pm

That's exactly what I wanted !

Thanks for this .cap, really !

By the way, can you help me with my zoom "problem" ?
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 508

Post » Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:37 pm

Don't know exactly what you mean...
Construct is very simple: You can Zoom all Objects in one Layer leaving other Layers at same size (the HUD for example)

ZoomLayer.cap
B
4
S
1
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 997

Post » Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:40 pm

Thanks again for your .cap.

In fact, I just want to do a zoom out on my map at the beginning of a level for an overview, then zoom back to normal. But the problem is that the zoom is sharp and goes directly from (50, 50) to (100, 100), and it gives an odd effect.

So I'd like to know how to zoom progressive as your .cap when you change the zoom factor, the zoom is progressive, and I would like to know how to do that automatically.
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 508

Post » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:33 am

You can write it yourself, just add 0.01 or something to the "Zoom Factor" every 50 milliseconds until 2 is reached.

Do a little wait,

and then subtract 0.01 from Zoom Factor every 50 milliseconds until you're back at 1. That's not complicated, try it
B
4
S
1
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 997


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest