HTML5 game size limit

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:34 pm

BTW it looks like you're using animation frames as tilemap tiles - that's going to use up a lot of images, and the Tilemap object does that a lot better, so that's one thing you can do.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240


Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:52 pm

Yes I just started getting the Red loading bar of death on my project too since updating to r184. I only have 428 images after export. they are all of various sizes though, and unoptimized to use power of 2. Anyone know how to image loading error or what causes it?
B
20
S
2
Posts: 70
Reputation: 1,446

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:39 am

@suntank - did you check the browser console? Do you have 7000+ images in your project as well? Spritesheeting on export will significantly reduce the image count, preview mode can be using vastly more images.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:47 pm

You don't need that many images to create game. If you are good programmer you would sit down and plan the game ahead. One can use same images many times by changing orientation and sizes or sprites manipulation. I am not clever as Ashley but, I know thing or two. Common sense that many images will slow down any pc or android has no chance
B
245
S
39
G
15
Posts: 1,941
Reputation: 40,246

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:57 pm

Construct 2 doesn't like 1x1 pixel images anymore and causes the game to no longer load when exported. I submitted a bug report on this, so hopefully it will get fixed... :D
B
20
S
2
Posts: 70
Reputation: 1,446

Post » Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:20 am

suntank what do you mean by 1x1 pixel?
B
245
S
39
G
15
Posts: 1,941
Reputation: 40,246

Post » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:50 am

Thanks a lot for your answer Ashey ! (and sorry for the delay, I've been quite busy with work).
I don't know why there are so many images. I thought I followed the tutorial properly, to create a tile set and to create animation.

My game having 7000+ images is wrong. I must have done something wrong so I'll check that asap.
But I would like to confirm something first to understand how the system works.

In the plateformer tutorial, you teach us to create animated sprites.
1) Create a new Sprite
2) Add animation
3) Import images
4) Repeat for each different animation

So my game uses this system with around 20 sprites, each having around 10 unique animations with around 10-15 images in each animation.

So my question is : Is this still the correct way to create animated sprites ? Each animation is supposed to create one animation sprite when exported ?

Also, you said "it looks like you're using animation frames as tilemap tiles - that's going to use up a lot of images", well that is true. Why did I do that ? Simply because I followed the tutorial for the plateformer game which shows how to create tiles by the method I used : Create a sprite, import all tiles inside and change animation speed to 0. I think when I started using Construct 2, the tilemap object did not exist thought (1 or 2 years ago I think).
I'll update my project with the new tilemap object then. Hope it'll lower the number of image generated.

But I really wonder how so many images can be created indeed. I really thought I followed the tutorial to the letter.

Thanks again for your help !
B
10
S
2
Posts: 67
Reputation: 690

Post » Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:15 pm

@Ashley about game size. Give more pixels to use on layout. Maximum size of layout is 1 000 000 pix my game needs more so fix this limit to 10 000 000 pixels or make this unlimited
B
109
S
25
G
43
Posts: 1,883
Reputation: 33,553

Post » Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:52 pm

Ashley I want 3D in C2 plz do it now? One should be satisfied with what you have
B
245
S
39
G
15
Posts: 1,941
Reputation: 40,246

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests