HTML5 on Amazon Fire TV

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:44 am

Apparently Amazon Fire TV now supports HTML5 apps with support for WebGL and Gamepads:

https://developer.amazon.com/post/Tx3ALQCEOVXJBJ9/Extend-the-Reach-of-Your-HTML5-App-to-the-Living-Room.html

We don't have a Fire TV in the office right now to test with - does anyone have one and have you tried it?
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,600

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 3:01 pm

I do. What kind of test do you want me to do? Provide me a capx or test file and I'll run it.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 3:08 pm

One thing though. I don't have a gamepad, just the standard remote.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:39 pm

Maybe the gamepad API maps some remote buttons to controls?

If you can just export the gamepad example project and get it moving that would be cool. Or any small game and check the framerate.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,600

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:29 pm

Well it is pretty much like a mini gamepad. I'll give it a go this evening
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:20 pm

Yup, it works through the "web app tester". Up, down, left and right controlled the ship. Middle button didn't do anything but I assume it wasn't mapped to anything in the demo. The text saying no gamepad detected remained on the screen, but as I said it did work.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:29 pm

Actually I see that firing is in that demo. I have no idea which button it is mapped to though as I have mapped all the remaining buttons to fire to try and isolate it. i.e. a, b, x, y, start/menu, and back/view.
Last edited by TheWyrm on Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:47 pm

https://developer.amazon.com/public/solutions/platforms/webapps/docs/supporting-controllers-in-web-apps

So keycode is 13 for the d-pad center. When I tried is 'Is button index down" with 13 it didn't do anything though. I'll try 'Is button index pressed' when I get the TV back from the wife ;)
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:58 pm

Ok, I got it working. I replaced 'space is down' with 'return is down' since that is keycode 13 on a keyboard. Soooo.... this probably means the remote doesn't work with gamepad controls.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:26 pm

TheWyrm wrote:Ok, I got it working. I replaced 'space is down' with 'return is down' since that is keycode 13 on a keyboard. Soooo.... this probably means the remote doesn't work with gamepad controls.


This is still a nice news, as it means it is still possible to do mappable controls without needing to do a particular plugin for the remote.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests