http://localhost:50000/Arr_plugin.js, line 65 (col 14)

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:02 pm

Problem Description
I have been creating ccg. Currently my project has around 700 events, don't think that i can share it here without a lot of explanations, but maybe this bug has general solution.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • I play card with effect 1.
  • After this i play card with effect 2 and sometimes browser declines effect of this card and shows me message of error.

Observed Result
Text of error message in Mozilla Firefox
Javascript error!
TypeError: a is undefined
http://localhost:50000/Arr_plugin.js, line 65 (col 14)

This is likely a bug in Construct 2 or a third party plugin or behavior - please report it to the developer. Subsequent errors will be logged to the console.



Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES)
  • FireFox: (YES)

Operating System and Service Pack
____ Windows 8 ____

Construct 2 Version ID
____ 190 ____
Last edited by Bullterrier on Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 885

Post » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:27 pm

Excuse me for double post, but please answer me when you have free time as soon as possible. At least whether is it internal bug for sure or i need to continue searching errors in my events. I became very disappointed, because i invested a lot of time to make this project and now can't understand how to make it work.

In chrome error looks a bit different.

"
Cannot read property 'length' of undefined
http://localhost:50000/Arr_plugin.js, line 65 (col 22)
This is likely a bug in Construct 2 or a third party plugin or behavior - please report it to the developer. Subsequent errors will be logged to the console.
"

So, col 22 instead of 14 and property 'length' instead of 'a'.

In console i see:
"
Arr_plugin.js:65 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'length' of undefined
"

and when i press to view code in developer tool of Chrome i see that "for (i = 0, len = a.length; i < len; i++)" in next code is underlined and marked as error:

function freeArray(a)
{
// Try to recycle any other arrays stored in this array
var i, len;
for (i = 0, len = a.length; i < len; i++)
{
if (Array.isArray(a[i]))
freeArray(a[i]);
}

a.length = 0;
arrCache.push(a);
};
B
5
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 885

Post » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:44 pm

Seems like it was my fault. I tried a lot of (almost random) actions to solve my problem - and when i hited "reset global variables" between 2 cycles of using effects of the card, crush was not occured. It's still interesting why that mistake was, but at least this semi-shaman-like action helped to deal with issue and i can continue my project after 4 days of delay.

Conclusion: maybe i have too many global variables and some of them affected js array before 2nd iteration of card effect's cycle.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 885

Post » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:48 pm

Bumping your own post after an hour is ridiculous.

As is often stated, bug reports can take many days to be investigated, maybe even weeks if there is a complication.

Plus, as it's xmas, it's highly unlikely to be resolved until after the holidays, especially as you haven't followed the bug reporting guidelines in any way.

This makes it impossible for anyone else to even attempt to offer assistance.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,387
Reputation: 58,456

Post » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:56 pm

Closing, please follow the bug report guidelines and attach a .capx, or there is basically nothing we can do to investigate the problem.

Please also try disabling any browser addons in case they are breaking it.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,782

Post » Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:30 am

Thank you for recomendations about addons, i will give it to my community if they have smth similiar. Another sorry for double posting (problem was very important for me and i was trying to repair it myself for 4 days) and my apologies that i didn't enclose capx - project has a lot of events, the order of actions to reproduce bug was rather complicated and it has for now only french and russian languages. The main goal was to investigate is there a known bug or my errors in events and what i can do to resolve it. Happy Xmas and New Year.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 885


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests