Hue Shader

Forum for plugin, effect and behavior programmers. Please use the Help & Support forum for help using Construct.

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:30 pm

Because of this topic, I decided I would take a crack at making a hue shader. Well, it took me a little time, but I actually managed to do it. It doesn't allow you to alter the saturation or lightness, but it does allow you to change the hue. :) Here it is(with example CAP):

Hue Shader(with example)

Let me know what you think. :) Also, any chance this could be included in the next Construct build?
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:37 pm

awesome thanks :D
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:42 pm

Doesn't appear to do anything for me...?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:05 pm

Looks like it's working fine on my end. The actions seemed to be missing a "Sprite: Hue Tint: Set Hue to global('hue')" action.

Also, linkman... just a heads up but the description for your effect reads "Additive blend with intensity."
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:09 pm

Also, there is a crash when you double-click the Set Hue event and then hit "Back" in the wizard.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:20 pm

No problem, dfyb. :)

@deadeye
Crap, I used the additive shader as a template and I forgot to change the description. :P The download link now points to a version where that's fixed.

@Mipey
How is it not working? Hue doesn't effect grayscale images, if that's what you're trying to do. Also, the crash is due to Construct only. It's like that for all effects.

EDIT: I fixed it up to where the entire image isn't colored the same way. Each pixel's hue now changes based on what color they are originally. :) Download from the top, or HERE.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:48 pm

[quote="linkman2004":1a69ghoo]EDIT: I fixed it up to where the entire image isn't colored the same way. Each pixel's hue now changes based on what color they are originally. :)[/quote:1a69ghoo]

Hot damn, that's quite nice :D

But maybe you should make a second shader that does it the old way as well, and call it "Monochrome Hue" or something like that :)
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:18 pm

Excellent work mate.
Love it!

I also agree that it would be nice to have one that does it the original way too.

Very nice.

Sponge.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 105
Reputation: 1,310

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:28 pm

Very nice indeed :).
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:42 am

Okay, so I put the Hue Tint.fx into Effects folder, run the .cap - the sprite colors aren't changing at all. Must be my PC or something, I don't know :s
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Next

Return to Construct engineering

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests