huge CPU usage using the debugger?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:15 pm

Just a quick question regarding the debugger.. Do you allso experience huge cpu spikes and general high cpu utilisation when using the "inspect" window in the debugger?
on my set up in chrome my game drops to 5-10 fpss and 58 to 91% cpu usage when i'm on the inspect window.. switch to "inspect" or "profile" I'm back to 60 fps and 5% cpu usage...

is this normal ?
Image
Get it on Google play or play on papio.nu
B
11
S
2
Posts: 79
Reputation: 786

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:19 pm

ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,599
Reputation: 34,825

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:27 pm

thanks - The game as such doesn't have any performance problems (at the moment :) ) .. only place i've notice it is when running the debugger in "inspect" view".
I know that the debugger it self will eat up some CPU recources.. but going from 5% without debugger to 80-90% makes me a bit worried
Image
Get it on Google play or play on papio.nu
B
11
S
2
Posts: 79
Reputation: 786

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:33 pm

Yeah, don't worry about that. Currently In my game as soon as debugger starts I'm spamming the "Profiler" button cause when first layout loads up It gives me 2fps and almost 95% of cpu :)
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,599
Reputation: 34,825

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:34 pm

hehe ok :) glad I'm not the only one... it's a bit weird though
Image
Get it on Google play or play on papio.nu
B
11
S
2
Posts: 79
Reputation: 786

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:42 pm

It's not, when you think of it.
When You are in Debugger->Inspect->System then all the data you see need's to be process constantly. All "Performance", "System", global variables, all layout and all layers parameters etc etc. More you have then more data needs to be processed and displayed, and also there's your game running on top of that :)
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,599
Reputation: 34,825

Post » Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:35 pm

I've found that when I disconnect the debugger window from the game window, the CPU usage drops by a large percentage. Not sure why but it does!
Image
B
12
S
2
Posts: 91
Reputation: 862

Post » Sun Oct 11, 2015 10:04 am

nice trick @BIg Infinity - just tried it and cpu usage dropped from 55% to 2 % :)
Image
Get it on Google play or play on papio.nu
B
11
S
2
Posts: 79
Reputation: 786

Post » Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:54 am

:D
Image
B
12
S
2
Posts: 91
Reputation: 862

Post » Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:28 am

Big Infinity wrote:I've found that when I disconnect the debugger window from the game window, the CPU usage drops by a large percentage. Not sure why but it does!


Doesn't work for me (still same percentage). :clicking on the watch or profile tab helps. Probably takes more processing to display all the info in the debug.
B
43
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,105
Reputation: 37,949


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests