Huge Number of Objects

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:57 am

I was just wondering if Construct 2 would implement some sort of object management during events when asked to chose an object. For example, when wanting to pin an object to a second object, I have a huge list of about 60 sprites, to scroll through. Is it possible to make the object choosing interface similar to that of the expression interface where the objects are placed in their respective folders? The same could also be said for adding/editing families.
B
7
Posts: 38
Reputation: 683

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:06 pm

I think the non-free version has this feature.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:07 pm

A benefit of the licensed version is you can organise objects in to folders.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:37 pm

Yes Thats right...it does...But currently there seems to be no way to organize objects that exist within layers in the LAYERS TAB ...Much Like Photoshop lets you organize layers..with folder groups....You can organize in the Project tree ..with folders but unless I am missing something HUGE and you can do this....An ability to have folder groups in the LAYERS Tab would be AWESOME...With all of the retained functionality of Visibility & layer locking toggle Btns..It would really assist for people making LARGE projects...I have several hundreds of objects in my projects ..many all on a layout at a single time...sorting in the layers Tab is difficult at best especially when you have many Objects overlapping each other....I mean I guess I could dumb down my projects ...but then you wouldn't enjoy the end product as much..?
When in doubt..or you are lost in a Zombie apocalypse or someone is giving you a hard time..Remember one thing..... Read the Construct 2 Manual..it will save your life.:)
B
29
S
11
G
8
Posts: 312
Reputation: 7,333

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:43 pm

Are you not dedicating specific layers to specific things and then naming them like "background" "ui" etc?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:30 am

I agree with mystazsea - that would be very useful. When I have dozens of objects on one layer, many of them overlapping each other, it's a real pain to try and select one. I'd love an expandable layers palette like photoshop where I can hide and lock individual objects or folders of objects, and not be limited to hiding/locking the entire layer. Even with multiple things on multiple layers, as soon as my project gets reasonably complicated I start wishing for this feature.
B
32
G
1
Posts: 18
Reputation: 1,663

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:26 am

I am using the licensed version. What I'm referring to isn't the folders, it's the object selection when the dialog box appears for selection of objects. The selection does not organize the objects into the folders that the objects are in whereas the expression dialog box does.
B
7
Posts: 38
Reputation: 683

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:00 pm

@msv0001 - it does, I added it in an update a while ago... unless you're looking somewhere else. What exactly are you looking at?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:54 am

This is what I meant:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/104500051/ObjectSelection.png
B
7
Posts: 38
Reputation: 683

Post » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:26 pm

Yes I have the same complain as msv0001 has. I think it would be nice to have folder structure in that dialog as well. I'm using the licensed version and I can image that object list will go huge...
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 94
Reputation: 2,089

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests