I must be doing something wrong...

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:18 pm

Oh! One of those clever things that you can't use until you add it to the layout editor...you wouldn't believe how long it took me to realize you had to add the Keyboard/Mouse support to make conditions based on button presses...I was so frustrated. Ha ha, oh well.

These Function things look interesting, but I haven't spent much time trying to figure 'em out. I need to be at full capacity to understand some of these things, and it's late.


Anyway, I actually figured out how to make Mega Man shoot and go back to a normal position from standing and in the air, but while running? It was a a nightmare and I still haven't gotten it figured it out. See, Mega Man has three running frames, one with the right arm forward, one with the left arm forward, and one in between. It's the same for shooting while running, the only difference is that his shooting arm is out. In the Mega Man games, when you press the button to shoot, his arms and legs are in the same position as they where before shooting. So, if he's in Frame 1 on running, he'll go to Frame 1 on shooting and running. I can't figure out how to do that. I thought your idea of separating the sprites into two parts might work, but his arms move at the same frames too.

I'm baffled. Maybe I'll put this part on hold for a while, it was giving me a headache.

Once again, thanks for your help.
B
3
G
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 903

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:18 pm

[quote="Magnet Missile":9rcejsaj]So, if he's in Frame 1 on running, he'll go to Frame 1 on shooting and running. I can't figure out how to do that.[/quote:9rcejsaj]

There is a condition to check which frame of an animation is playing. When you set the animation to shooting, you can set it to the right frame as well. It shouldn't be too much of a hassle setting it up this way.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:19 pm

I think I tried something like that, but it wasn't working out. I guess I'll have to look into it further.
By the way, functions, I don't get 'em yet. I had an enemy that is supposed to wait 2 seconds, then fire 3 shots, then go back to guarding (Sniper Joe in case you were wondering). He waits just fine, then lets out an endless stream of shots. It's kinda neat looking, but not really what I was looking for, and not exactly very fair either.

Anyway, I...uh...already started another project. But it's not as focused as this one. This Mega Man game I'm working on has a specific direction and a specific goal. I'm doing some things differently (it's two-players, that won't work well on a keyboard!) but when it comes down to it, it's intended to follow the Mega Man formula very strictly.

I started some bizarre Mario game, to let all of my weird ideas flow out and to experiment with different types of gameplay to get a better hang of things while making some strange, directionless game. I don't know, I think it might help. It doesn't mean I'm not still working on my Mega Man game.

It's so easy to get distracted.
B
3
G
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 903

Post » Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:46 pm

[quote="Magnet Missile":uc8t4jwr]By the way, functions, I don't get 'em yet. I had an enemy that is supposed to wait 2 seconds, then fire 3 shots, then go back to guarding (Sniper Joe in case you were wondering). He waits just fine, then lets out an endless stream of shots. It's kinda neat looking, but not really what I was looking for, and not exactly very fair either.
[/quote:uc8t4jwr]

Sounds like you're missing a condition which will end the shooting after 3 shots or you're calling the function all the time unintentionally or something like that. If you want to, I can have a look at your cap (in case you don't want to upload a cap to the forum, there's always PM).

[quote="Magnet Missile":uc8t4jwr]It's so easy to get distracted.[/quote:uc8t4jwr]
Indeed it is! 8)
But don't worry. Doing a project like you described where you have more creative freedom and aren't obligated to recreate a certain kind of style and/or gameplay, will be a good learning experience for sure.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:40 am

A cap huh? I might whip something up later, I've already thrown in a big chunk of level and some tricky platforming...I should just copy what I need for the timing stuff into a simple cap file, but I don't really have the motivation to do it right now.

Speaking of getting distracted...I'm getting even more distracted. Like I said earlier, Construct seems awesome, and I like how I can do interesting stuff without any real knowledge of scripting. But...it's overwhelming. I don't really need this much freedom at this point. I...think I should finish something with RPG Maker XP first, because it's so simple. Sure, my game's not too unique, sure it's not anything groundbreaking or special, but it's easy to work on and I have enough freedom for the time being. I want to make a platformer, but I don't have the patience or focus right now.

Oh well. I'll probably work on and off with Construct and RPG Maker XP for a while. Both have different advantages for me and both have their disadvantages. I guess I should just work on one until I hit a bump and then switch to the other for a while?

Once again, thanks PixelRebirth. I'll probably whip some caps up if you still want to help...in my Mario project I can't even figure out how to make a Goomba...sad. Maybe I just need more sleep? Making games (or rather, TRYING to make games) makes me lose sleep...
B
3
G
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 903

Post » Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:38 am

[quote="Magnet Missile":2ahnquve]Like I said earlier, Construct seems awesome, and I like how I can do interesting stuff without any real knowledge of scripting. But...it's overwhelming. I don't really need this much freedom at this point.[/quote:2ahnquve]

Well, I do understand it may become overwhelming, especially if you didn't work with the likes of Click & Create and Multimedia Fusion before.

[quote="Magnet Missile":2ahnquve]Oh well. I'll probably work on and off with Construct and RPG Maker XP for a while. Both have different advantages for me and both have their disadvantages. I guess I should just work on one until I hit a bump and then switch to the other for a while?[/quote:2ahnquve]

Hey, there's nothing bad to say about RPG Maker. For a certain kind of game, it works pretty well for sure. And of course you could use both applications at the same time. The thing about hitting bumps though is in my opinion to be a little persistent to overcome them. It may be a pain in the ass at first, but in the long run you will profit a lot.

I would advice you to switch to the older 0.98.9 version of Construct for now. Although 0.99.42 is marked stable, it has some problems 0.98.9 doesn't. And with 0.98.9 you can work through the Platform School tutorial, which should clarify a lot of things for you.

[quote="Magnet Missile":2ahnquve]
Once again, thanks PixelRebirth. I'll probably whip some caps up if you still want to help...in my Mario project I can't even figure out how to make a Goomba...sad. Maybe I just need more sleep?[/quote:2ahnquve]

Sure I'd help you. Not a problem. Show me your cap and I show you mine, or smt like that. :mrgreen:
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:06 am

You know what? I'm going to stop whining and complaining about my lack of focus and stuff. I made this topic to ask for help, not to complain about how time-consuming it is to make games.

I wasn't complaining about RPG Maker XP. There are lots of little things about it that bother me, but for making an RPG without knowing complicated scripting and programming stuff, it's good at what it does. I know what you mean about tackling problems until they are fixed...even if I put something off it will still be there, but sometimes it helps to take a break, you know? Think about something else for a while, and the answer just comes to you.

I actually have 2 versions of Construct on my computer right now. The newest version, and the previous most stable version. I wanted to try the Platform School tutorial, but it doesn't work on the newest version so I used the previous one. It really helped, but some things didn't work when I copied them into my project. My computer can't even run the Ghost Shooter tutorial...ha ha ha...


As for a cap...how would I go about uploading one? I've honestly never uploaded anything to the internet besides pictures...
B
3
G
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 903

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:02 pm

[quote="Magnet Missile":3gqion6c]As for a cap...how would I go about uploading one? I've honestly never uploaded anything to the internet besides pictures...[/quote:3gqion6c]

Well there are quite some free upload sites. Dropbox seems to be pretty popular around here. You could also try Mediafire. It basically works the same like uploading an image.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:20 am

Thanks again. I decided to use MediaFire, I didn't feel like downloading another program right now.

I think this should work:
[url:1mv295jr]http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jbzugknrtnw[/url:1mv295jr]

There's three things in there I'd like help with.

1. The Returning Sniper Joe (orange enemy) is supposed to shoot three shots and then go back to it's normal position. Eventually I want the shield to block shots in this position, but that's going ahead of myself. Instead, he lets out a fairly steady stream of shots, which looks sorta cool, but is not what I'm looking for.

2. The Piranha Plant (green enemy) is supposed to move between positions, instead of appearing from one spot to the other. I know how to put it behind the pipe, but I left it in front so you could see what was happening better. I also intend on making it so it won't come out of the pipe if you are too close, but again, that's getting ahead of myself.

3. Notice the coins? Each one increases a global variable when touched, but I can't figure out how to display it. What I've tried before doesn't work.

Thanks in advance for this. Sorry if it's not clear what I need help with or something.
B
3
G
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 903

Post » Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:14 pm

[quote="Magnet Missile":1o8u0hkg]3. Notice the coins? Each one increases a global variable when touched, but I can't figure out how to display it. What I've tried before doesn't work.[/quote:1o8u0hkg]

That's the easiest problem you have. Just add a text object and set its text to Global('Coint count') in an always event.

As for the enemies I have a general advice for you: use private variables to control their behavior! I added PVs for the delay between shots, for the general status (is shooting or not), the time it will wait between two attacks and all that. Sometimes there are double values, like MaxShots and CurShots for the Sniper. Maxshots is the amount of shots it will fire in one attack. CurShots counts the fired shots, in order to stop the attack, when Curshots equals Maxshots.

For some values like Rate you could use a Global value instead, since it's just the amount you subtract from a certain value. This doesn't really need to be sprite specific.

Regarding the plant: you added 8 directions movement, but you didn't use any of the movement's actions. Instead you used 'Move at angle', which works differently. The amount of pixels you set will be moved instantly in 1 tick! I used Ball Behaviour for the plant, which fits the purpose better. You could also use Bullet of course.

With all the values you can easily control the behavior of your enemies and you can have different instances acting differently by just changing some values. Although I may not have done it the most elegant way here, it's generally speaking the way to go.

I didn't comment the cap, there aren't many events though. The hard part will be to figure out which PV is there for what purpose. But I bet you can figure it out when you have a closer look.

Your cap with changes

If there's something else, you can always contact me.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

PreviousNext

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests