I need your help to figure out Airscape's performance issues

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 3:18 am

Yeah, bunnymark isn't a real rendering performance test, it's probably CPU/memory bottlenecked.

I don't know why people are talking about multicore and CPU limitations. You do realize the problem is PURELY on the GPU side, right? Unless it's harder for the CPU to keep up with 3000 objects in renderperftest than it is for the GPU to draw it...
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,664

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 3:28 am

sqiddster wrote:Yeah, bunnymark isn't a real rendering performance test, it's probably CPU/memory bottlenecked.

I don't know why people are talking about multicore and CPU limitations. You do realize the problem is PURELY on the GPU side, right? Unless it's harder for the CPU to keep up with 3000 objects in renderperftest than it is for the GPU to draw it...


Do the bench with your setup and monitor GPU usage with GPU-Z, lets see the GPU load %. Bet you its nowhere near your CPU utilization.

I've just monitored GPU usage in Airscape demo on Steam, 1080p (auto resolution and standard). ~15-20% of my GPU is loaded while playing 60 fps (with random stutters). It's definitely not a GPU bottleneck.

I just ran your stripped down test via dropbox, and my GPU isn't even loaded (~1-3%!!) to a point where its above idle enough for it to run at higher clocks. It's running on idle 300mhz clock instead of loaded 880mhz (which the Steam demo did load).

Edit: Radeon 7950 stock clocks with i5-3570K.
Last edited by Silverforce on Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
68
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 17,553

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:08 am

Silverforce wrote:
sqiddster wrote:Yeah, bunnymark isn't a real rendering performance test, it's probably CPU/memory bottlenecked.

I don't know why people are talking about multicore and CPU limitations. You do realize the problem is PURELY on the GPU side, right? Unless it's harder for the CPU to keep up with 3000 objects in renderperftest than it is for the GPU to draw it...


Do the bench with your setup and monitor GPU usage with GPU-Z, lets see the GPU load %. Bet you its nowhere near your CPU utilization.

I've just monitored GPU usage in Airscape demo on Steam, 1080p (auto resolution and standard). ~15-20% of my GPU is loaded while playing 60 fps (with random stutters). It's definitely not a GPU bottleneck.


Face=palm. Totally forgot about gpu-z.

Okay, so, on my system (3570k, HD4000) I can confirm that the gpu is getting loaded down. In the dropbox airscape demo, gpu is at 90% or more at 60fps, auto setting, window size aprox 800p.

Trying a random project of mine (space shooter with a couple webGL effects and a few layers) I upped the rez to 1080p and looked at what I got. With default settings, smooth performance was a no go, with fps running similar to airscape in the latest chrome stable, ie, from 30 to 40fps. Stripping away almost all the fx, and a few window dressing layers got me 60fps, but with little room to spare according to gpu-z.

I think it's starting to look like:

(C2 engine + real game + iGPU) != (60fps @ 1080p)
Last edited by TiAm on Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:20 am

This smells like it's an Intel problem, their iGPUs are not optimized to handle WebGL properly leading to major loading in otherwise simple 2d games. Especially if its faster in canvas2D mode where their raw CPU power muscle through.

I noticed this behavior early on, in the first Star Nomad I deliberately kept everything as simple as possible and only used 1 webgl effect on a rare sprite. Everytime it spawned, my performance would tank HARD on my notebook with Intel HD4000. It was fine on Android devices and butter smooth on iOS.
B
68
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 17,553

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:27 am

TiAm wrote:I think it's starting to look like:

(C2 engine + real game + iGPU) != (60fps @ 1080p)


Not exactly, only applies to Intel iGPU.

I have an AMD A10 HTPC rig for playing movies & lighter games on the TV.

AMD iGPU in their APU like A6/A8/A10 series have no issues and are able to accelerate WebGL perfectly & efficiently.
B
68
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 17,553

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:29 am

Really, I've had a lot of trouble with display glitches in various programs due to intel graphics. It's a shame they are such a large chunk of the market.

I've gotta stop putting off getting a real gpu...

/digression

We might get a better idea if someone with low end dedicated graphics (Nvidia or AMD/ATI) could run the airscape demo and post their gpu-z results. If a low end card is not only pushing 1080p @ 60fps, but doing so without using any gpu, we can pretty much chart this up to bad drivers on intel's part.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:34 am

Silverforce wrote:
TiAm wrote:I think it's starting to look like:

(C2 engine + real game + iGPU) != (60fps @ 1080p)


Not exactly, only applies to Intel iGPU.

I have an AMD A10 HTPC rig for playing movies & lighter games on the TV.

AMD iGPU in their APU like A6/A8/A10 series have no issues and are able to accelerate WebGL perfectly & efficiently.


Yeah, actually, that's a good point. I've really never read anything bad about AMD's apu solutions; in fact, they seem pretty awesome for what they are.

Of course, AMD has the advantage of all the tech and expertise they picked up when they merged with ATI; Intel is a relative newcomer to GPU's, and it hasn't exactly been smooth sailing (anybody remember Larrabee?).

What about giving airscape/gpu-z a go on the A10 rig you're talking about?
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:49 am

TiAm wrote:What about giving airscape/gpu-z a go on the A10 rig you're talking about?


It's wife's rig and occupied for her work atm.

I did test it in the past running my own performance test and it handled it fine, which was why I was so surprised when my Intel HD4000 struggle so much in a simple game.
B
68
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 17,553

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 5:00 am

I'd still really like to see a non C2 2D webGL *rendering speed* benchmark! That could tell us once and for all if it really is an intel problem (and I really really really really hope it's not) or a C2 problem.

Does such a thing exist?
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,664

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 5:33 am

Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mekonbekon and 6 guests