I was wondering about C2s 3d capabilities

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:05 pm

I was looking through some gamemaker stuff and I saw a few users had developed 'fake 3d' engines. Some of them actually looked pretty good. From my understanding they do it by shrinking, enlarging, and rotating the sprites. As I haven't seen anything like this in C2, I was wondering if it was possible. Here are some links to the games:

Unkown Unlocked 2 Game (the best one I saw)

Mini Of Duty

An engine thing

Thanks everyone!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 928

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:44 am

Fake 3D is definitely possible, but it'd be more worthwhile - finding an engine to suit the requirements of your game better.
B
37
S
11
G
6
Posts: 962
Reputation: 11,254

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:09 pm

All those games you linked are actual 3d games, not "fake 3d".
B
91
S
31
G
103
Posts: 5,235
Reputation: 67,756

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:57 pm

The second and third one may actually be what he described. Something like an advanced Mode7?
B
37
S
11
G
6
Posts: 962
Reputation: 11,254

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm

Nope. The second one does use sprites for the enemies and gun model, but it's still a 3D environment. Think Doom.
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:11 pm

Game Maker supports real 3D rendering. C2 does not.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:43 pm

Check out Three.js (Google it)

And check out this:

http://learningthreejs.com/blog/2012/05/21/sport-car-in-webgl/

Go out there and learn yourself some js ! :D
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,443

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:52 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RSORqCGZrI This is what I did some years ago in Game Maker with openGL plugin.
B
43
S
5
G
5
Posts: 410
Reputation: 5,742

Post » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:59 pm

...about game maker:
http://indiegames.com/2012/09/gamemaker_aims_to_be_the_unity.html

"By next Christmas, he wagers, "we'd be at least as big as" Unity."

no comments
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,590
Reputation: 34,640

Post » Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:08 am

I'm surprised nobody linked this yet, @juantar implemented Copperlicht with Construct 2: http://www.scirra.com/forum/plugin-3d-using-copperlicht_topic49881.html

Seems like a great way of doing it
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (but not play them)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
113
S
39
G
17
Posts: 2,184
Reputation: 19,217

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jefftrier, vikuserro and 5 guests