I was wondering about C2s 3d capabilities

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:08 am

I'm surprised nobody linked this yet, @juantar implemented Copperlicht with Construct 2: http://www.scirra.com/forum/plugin-3d-using-copperlicht_topic49881.html

Seems like a great way of doing it
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:10 am

[QUOTE=nemo] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RSORqCGZrI This is what I did some years ago in Game Maker with openGL plugin. [/QUOTE]

Wow! Nice job!
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:35 am

I still think they're not using actual models in the "an engine thing" example.
He places sprites in a 2D map and it becomes a 3D movement.
B
36
S
10
G
6
Posts: 948
Reputation: 11,101

Post » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:56 am

The 2D map seems just like a level editor, I think the runtime read their positions and create 3d objects accordingly later.
Scirra Employee
B
129
S
45
G
15
Posts: 705
Reputation: 15,413

Post » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:58 pm

[QUOTE=shinkan] ...about game maker:
http://indiegames.com/2012/09/gamemaker_aims_to_be_the_unity.html

"By next Christmas, he wagers, "we'd be at least as big as" Unity."

no comments[/QUOTE]
Unity is the Unity of 2D.
They're way over their heads imo.

@Animmaniac I guess it could just be that too.Rory2012-09-24 17:59:06
B
36
S
10
G
6
Posts: 948
Reputation: 11,101

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:25 am

Wow, thanks for all the replies. The construct 2 community is wonderful!

@animmaniac, I think your right. I believe the guy who wrote the script programmed it to only render the 3d view on while the game is running to allow for easy editing.

@nemo, Really cool game you made there!

@jayJay, that seems like a really cool plugin. Unfortunately, my browser doesn't want to run the example right now, but I can't wait til I can.

Are you guys basically saying it is impossible? My idea would be a still camera, and then shrink and enlarge the character.
B
7
Posts: 19
Reputation: 778

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:21 pm

[quote]My idea would be a still camera, and then shrink and enlarge the character. [/quote]
That is quite possible, you can set the scale of a sprite with an action like so:

Sprite set scale to K/distance_to_camera

Where K is usually 1 but you can tweak it to adjust the strength of the effect.
B
79
S
24
G
53
Posts: 4,728
Reputation: 40,219

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:13 pm

[QUOTE=R0J0hound] [quote]My idea would be a still camera, and then shrink and enlarge the character. [/quote]
That is quite possible, you can set the scale of a sprite with an action like so:

Sprite set scale to K/distance_to_camera

Where K is usually 1 but you can tweak it to adjust the strength of the effect.[/QUOTE]

And then, could you take it a step further? For instance, have the sprite stay the same size but the background get smaller and bigger? Say your 3d space was a tree in front of a mountain. You can't walk through trees, so once the tree has been enlarged to the maximum size (which would make it like you were right in front of the tree) it wouldn't enlarge anymore. Then, when you went in front of the tree, it would go to a new layout that didn't have a tree in it and just a mountain. This would also solve issues with blurry graphics. For every item you pass, you would need a new layout. Also, if you wanted to add bumpy camera, well there would be to ways. One would just use the bump effect while you were walking, and the other, say for instance if you walked up a hill, would move the sprites down or up depending on the current view (size) of the object. If you were to look around with your mouse, it would just scroll about a panoramic landscape. I think I might make a demo of this!
B
7
Posts: 19
Reputation: 778

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mirlas, wrighthill and 15 guests