If..Then..Else?

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • Hi,

Only had Construct for one week so still complete noob, many years ago I used to program in Speccy Basic, and then Stos ( on the Atari ST ).

Have created a one screen game, move collect keys, open doors leave screen. I have a variable "keys" that debug shows to be working just as I hoped, ie increases by one if key is picked up, decreases when door is destroyed, but I need to know how to perform the equivalent of:-

If "keys" = 0

Then Bounce

Else Destroy

So that if I have no key then the door will remain locked

Hope the explaination is clear, TIA Brett

• if dude collides with door

+value "keys" = 0

--> bounce

if dude collides with door

+value "keys" = bigger than 0

--> destroy door

--> subtract 1 from "keys"

try something like that.

• Hi thanks for your reply, the real problem is in using construct, I know what I want to do, and the order I need to do them in, the trouble is that I right click here and can only compare a variable if it is the first set of an event, I would like to set it up as :-

if dude hits door

and keys = 0

But can only seem to start from :-

if keys = 0

and dude hits door

Then new action does not include Bounce in the options. I just seem to be fighting the programs controls rather than getting on with what I want to do. Have tried the FAQ and Wiki but not like a real manual. Cheers Brett

• I'm not 100% sure what your problem was so this cap might be what you've got made already.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1646976/doorsandkeys.cap

Try go through the gray door at the start, yellow square is the key.

Sorry if this is what you already have.

Also posting a cap is always helpful to anyone understanding your problem.

• Hi many thanks for taking the time and trouble to help, sadly the .cap you uploaded will not run, I get an error message saying that construct.exe has come to an unexpected termination. try to follow this:-