im Confused;need levels to be a different size

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 10:59 am

i Have created a BrickBuster game and I want to change the shape of the layout for a few levels. For instance my first level has a (Close to) square layout shape. Now i want the next level to be much longer than it is wide.....my confusion is how exactly i should go about doing this. If i make all the objects smaller they will be too small not to mention the level is too square. i would like the layout to be much longer than it is wide.
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:06 am

You can set the layout widths and heights for each layout.

Open the desired layout, and on your left you will have "Layout size" and enter the desired size.


You have 2 size indicators in construct 2.

1. is your project view window, the actual size it will try and show in the browser/device.

2. is the layout size.

The project view window is like a window on top of your layout, and will only show the bits the window size allows you to see.

So for instance, if you have a project window of 800 wide, and a a layout of 1600 wide, the project view window should only show half of your layouts total width.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:26 am

In this case my level sizes will always be the same as the window size. what i want to do is change the project veiw window to be longer without going off screen or leaving a bunch of empty space, if i try to enlargee the project veiw window than the smaller or more square level shows a big empty white space at the bottom of the screen.
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:27 am

the layout size itself is much bigger than the window size but is unused
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:31 am

popejohnstevens wrote:In this case my level sizes will always be the same as the window size. what i want to do is change the project veiw window to be longer without going off screen or leaving a bunch of empty space, if i try to enlargee the project veiw window than the smaller or more square level shows a big empty white space at the bottom of the screen.



The project view window can be relative.
This could have to do with the scaling option you set.

Try setting fullscreen in browser to letterbox integer scale to get the actual size in your browser.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:39 am

i think im doing a bad job of explaining what im trying to do, or maybe there is just a simple solution but, i set fullscreen browser to leterbox interger scale and its the same. my first level has a height of about 400, my second layout has a height of about 900, so in otherwords my background tile and everything within it is only about half of the way to dotted line on bottom. in the browser theres a big white box bellow my level
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:42 am

theres no way to change the window size for each level so i must be in the wrong menu. i was hoping there was a way to set the window size to the size of my background layer since that layer is always going to be the size i want my project veiw window to be
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:46 am

popejohnstevens wrote:i think im doing a bad job of explaining what im trying to do, or maybe there is just a simple solution but, i set fullscreen browser to leterbox interger scale and its the same. my first level has a height of about 400, my second layout has a height of about 900, so in otherwords my background tile and everything within it is only about half of the way to dotted line on bottom. in the browser theres a big white box bellow my level


And in the editor, on the layout with height 900, you have actually filled the layout ?

Perhaps you could show a capx?
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:53 am

i have just added an achor behavior to the background image....maybe scroll to is the behavior im looking for?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 11:57 am

i havent filled the layout because only level 2 is supposed to be so tall
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Next

Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests