Image Size Increase???

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:47 am

Do you judge this size by what C2 tells you or from actual export? Since like I said the download size computation probably doesn't do complex file type and compression comparison, but just sums up the size of those cached 32 bit PNG files. Can you check an actual export?
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:04 pm

DPI stands for "dots per inch", which lets you know what the pic's resolution is going to be. It is not a file type like JPGs (I understand that) BUT a 300 DPI image is going to take quite a bit more space than a 72 DPI pic because there is a lot more info in the file. ...

I still believe its a resolution issue, ... obviously you are trying to save the detail in your image,
try this.

take your "original image" and save it at what ever size it is. then reopen the image from the saved file in another project (without dragging the scale) just open the image as is, when the image opens , Im going to assume it will be quite large.

Now down scale the image to the size you want and save it at 96 DPI in a web safe format like PNG, these are a bit larger but it will maintain transparency if you have any.

load your image into C2 and you should be ok...

also in the future, when your drawing images make your canvas size roughly the size you need for your image so you stay within the boundaries, I guessing you have a full sheet around 900x600 that your drawing a image on and that is where your problem is coming into play. "but I could be wrong" no insult intended... I myself have made mistakes like this and it turned out to be that the draw software was scaling the image back to original size on save to preserve the DPI.
Image
B
26
S
4
G
3
Posts: 147
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:22 pm

@TonyW - guess you either didn't read my post thoroughly or just decided it's not correct, however - A 512x512 PIXEL image will be the same file size no matter what DPI it has set. DPI is meaningless, it's just a multiplier.

I work with print production and often run into people adamantly believing DPI misconceptions - that it has some magical meaning beyond the pixel size of an image. Hence my wish to educate.

Let's ask our friend Photoshop:

Image

Image

Look at the DPI, pixel size and file size (Image Size: 768,0K on top). 512x512 pixels x image bits will ALWAYS be the same - DPI doesn't mean jack.

C2 also only deals in pixels and won't magically downscale or upscale the image. If it's saved as 512x512 pixels it will be the same in C2, no matter the DPI.

If you work in real-life sizes - in print, for example, look at EFFECTIVE DPI of the final image, in pixel graphics DPI is meaningless.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:57 pm

we dont know exactly what he is doing, how he is saving the image, what program he is using, is it re-sampling or re-sizing the image??? or what format....

I use a image program called (Draw plus) from serif and if you create a image at 50x50 it defaults to 96 dpi, if you change that the the image will automatically upscale or down scale to compensate... I often change it to maintain the resolution while layering images, when I save a image that was created with detail, it does not maintain the image quality when I bring it back into the program... it is blurry and grainy.. however if i save it at 300 dpi it comes back just like it was in the editor. then I have to re-scale the image back to 96 or when I upload it to c2 the image is 5X larger then It was in my editor... ( im not making this up, I have no need too. ) just simply stating what I have experienced my self.

I dont know what my editor does different then yours, but it does it.
96 & 300.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
B
26
S
4
G
3
Posts: 147
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 8:04 pm

man300.png
man96.png



look at these two images I have uploaded... scirra forum software automatically placed the image size under each image...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
B
26
S
4
G
3
Posts: 147
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 8:23 pm

TonyW wrote:I use a image program called (Draw plus) from serif and if you create a image at 50x50 it defaults to 96 dpi


50x50 what if I may ask? Draw plus is a vector program so you can export at whatever size you like.

And what is shown below happens because you do not set a size in pixels, but you have some random size in inches, centimetres or whatever - then DPI behaves like a multiplier, like I said - at 96dpi your image is this many pixels when exported so at 192 it would be twice as many, of course.

But if you set your size in pixels (as you should, since we work in pixels here) then it will be that size in pixels and DPI is still meaningless. When working with vector art a decent approach is to decide a certain unit to be equal to a pixel (I use 1 millimeter) - and then work and export according to that assumption. So you set a canvas of, say, 512x512mm and export by setting a PIXEL size of 512x512px. This way you can be sure that a line 1mm thick will be 1px thick, etc. Which, in turn, means better, more consistent artwork.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:26 pm

@IGamesProduction how how you changing the image format? are you using C2's image editors button to change the formats? because if not that why it goes back to the same size
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 6:21 am

Hi guys. I have a question. My image has size 128x46 px , imported to C2 and still have 128x46px. But when I exported to prepare to publish, that file is using 256x256 px with a lot of white space instead of 128x128 px??? Can someone help me to fix it please ?
B
13
S
1
Posts: 98
Reputation: 885

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests