Image splitter?

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:54 am

Does anyone know a program that can split an image into tiles? One that works like Construct's "import frames" cutting thing, except I want to export them as individual files rather than as frames in construct.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:01 am

If you can have a hand on photoshop, you can do that with the option called slicing. Then just export and select all slices.

Also, I found an online splitter, but didn't try it myself: http://www.htmlkit.com/services/is/
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:43 am

Not the same as construct but in case it works for you:
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6806
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:44 am

Imagemagick is the all-purpose command line tool for graphics manipulation:

http://www.imagemagick.org/script/index.php

You only have to type
[quote:32gntlah]
convert large.png -crop 32x32 tiles.png
[/quote:32gntlah]

And it will split your large.png into 32x32 pixel tiles01.png, tiles02.png etc.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,142

Post » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:04 am

Thanks for the responses, I don't really understand how to command line stuff though.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:35 pm

@Luomu
Many thanks. I was looking for a prog like this. Worked a treat. :D

Only problem is I now have 154 tiles that have to be inserted one at a time, unless there's a quicker way!
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,843
Reputation: 48,287

Post » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:52 am

I just made my own simple program using the image manipulator, much easier this way.

B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:37 am

[quote="zenox98":1yryg6hc]@Luomu
Many thanks. I was looking for a prog like this. Worked a treat. :D

Only problem is I now have 154 tiles that have to be inserted one at a time, unless there's a quicker way![/quote:1yryg6hc]

Import frames over in the animation bar.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:09 am

@newt - thanks.
Like David did in his tutorial? just increase the start frame to access the tile?

I'd seen this but it imports them all as sprites and not tiledbackgrounds, which I thought might cause slowdown. Not only that, the size of the level is 3280x912 which means selecting and drawing this way is going to be a pain, but until there's a better way.......
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,843
Reputation: 48,287


Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests