Images losing quality

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:38 pm

Windows image viewer.. 400x800

Construct browser game preview- 400x800 (no size change.) --- not zoomed in ---

Construct editor view not zoomed in




Literally dragged and dropped in.

I've also Double clicked>added a new sprite>opened the image in the image editor.



This image was exported from inkscape as a png.

Why is this happening and how can I fix this?
ThanksSulli2013-08-19 17:40:53
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:49 pm

Are you using point, linear?
Windows?
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 347
Reputation: 2,866

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:53 pm

Share a .capx.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:58 pm

@ashley


http://db.tt/kbWbUZMe capx



http://db.tt/YCD7K7Fb image used


That capx is not the project which the above screenshots were taken in; which also shows that it is not a setting in the project itself.
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:03 pm

It's because you're using letterbox scale, which is scaling up the image to fill the window. Turn it off and it looks identical in the browser.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:07 pm

@ashley

Woops the one I sent a link for was one I made (mine as assets in it.)

My project (screenshots) uses scale outer... will update that dropbox link.

*updated* same margins, same layout size and scale outer is on

and window size to 800x500 (same as my game)

-- if you plan to give some advice on screen resolutions and something else I have likely done incorrectly--
This intends to go through cocoon cloud compilation for iOS and android.Sulli2013-08-19 18:10:11
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:23 pm

you should create your image larger than what you want for your game. that means X2 or larger. then import it in photoshop or gimp or other software with better scaling.

letterbox scale is easily the solution if you want your game to support multiple resolutions. you just need to create your layout(GAME BACKGROUND) larger than your screen and keep the important buttons anchored so that it will stay in the same position no matter what.
B
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 168

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:26 pm

@leysanity

It was created in inkscape, not sure if that challenges what you have said or not.


I've actually forgotten why I'm using scale outer.. 2 months after initially choosing it..


Also, Ashley, the reason I even want this image is because it will be what my main menu buttons look like... I don't actually want the whole picture as one whole thing, if that changes anything.Sulli2013-08-19 18:28:46
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:50 pm

What Ashlay was saying is that when you have any "Scale" selected, it's zooming in so the game fits the screen as much as it can.

So as above you said you weren't zoomed in, if you have a scale selected, you are zoomed in.

You make the graphics bigger than you need so that when they are zoomed in on, (scaled) they still look clear.

The choice where to draw the line between clarity and performance is up to you.
B
230
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,323

Post » Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:54 pm

@Paradox you need a scale for cocoon?? :/

Whats the alternative :SSulli2013-08-19 23:55:03
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests