Import spritesheet problem question

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri May 23, 2014 8:50 am

Hey there

I am on a windows xp machine for the time being and yesterday I installed the latest beta 170.
A week or so ago I was able to import sprite sheets without a problem, but now after import I get the amount of frames stated in the select rows and columns, totally blank, no content.
Yes the sprite strip has images on them.

I occasionally had the problem of the appearing disabled menu option on right click, but they worked regardless. (worked though showing disabled)

Anyone else having issues with importing sprite sheets on a older machine ? (winxp 32bit)
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Fri May 23, 2014 10:52 am

You might want to make a report to the Bugs forum with the exact image you're importing and steps to reproduce.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Fri May 23, 2014 4:10 pm

@ashley

I found the problem, it is not construct 2 related.

I did not report a bug because I did not expect it to be. (you tend not to break stuff on new releases ;) )
I went as far as installing r169 followed up by r168.
Both with the same result.

I think it might have something to do with my current video drivers.
After I installed r170, I also hit the update video card drivers ... and this is an old computer.
I think that broke something in my drivers, and now the export tool I use to create sprite sheets(fragmotion) gives me flawed sheets.

They appear to be Ok in an image editor (par some distortion on 1 or 2 images occasionally) but when imported to construct 2, they give me blank empty frames.

I tried importing images I exported last week, and voila, they worked without a hitch.

in short....time for new hardware -,-
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Sat May 24, 2014 11:51 am

That explanation doesn't make much sense to me, because the spritesheet importer is not GPU accelerated, so should not be affected by whichever drivers you have.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Sat May 24, 2014 12:24 pm

@Ashley wrote:That explanation doesn't make much sense to me, because the spritesheet importer is not GPU accelerated, so should not be affected by whichever drivers you have.



the 3d tool exported corrupted spritesheets. Which seemingly looked Ok in paintshop, but got imported as blank frames in construct 2.

The driver issue was related to the 3d tool.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests