Important 3d boxes suggestions

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:37 pm

That's weird about the float values, have you tried seeing what your locale settings are in windows? (ie. maybe windows has set it to something you didnt try, and the property grid is using windows' setting).

Also the 3D box blanking out the layout is a known bug, I'm still working on that one.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:37 pm

I don't really see what "local settings" you are talking about? Like if i've told windows to round all numbers down?
B
1
G
5
Posts: 20
Reputation: 1,265

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2007 11:09 pm

No, in different countries they mark up the decimals in different ways. Ie. in Finland we write "3,14" when in number of countries people write "3.14". This might relate to the problem. I'm experiencing the layout-editor-goes-black-bug, so I cannot say anything about the matter itself.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:09 am

But i've tried both. Maybe i could try x'x also, since that is used in some countries, but i don't think it will work.
B
1
G
5
Posts: 20
Reputation: 1,265

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2007 8:20 pm

I did some testing and noticed that the decimal numbers are being rounded here too! However, they don't round right away. If I change the number, then click the focus off from the 3d box object and click it back, the numbers have been rounded in the properties bar.


About the 3d box bug. I wrote this originally to the bug tracker.

I experience this bug too.

Some additional information:

Changing the display settings does solve the problem partially, the
workspace isn't black any more. But display settings have to be changed when Construct is running, otherwise changing settings doesn't have effect. Here, 60Hz doesn't magically solve the problem, but changing the settings removes black.

Secondly, after changing the settings, the 3d box itself seems to be
invisible. Only the "root" is showing up. However, if then more 3d box objects are added, their boxes show up fine.

Also, after changing the display settings, scrollbars become invisible and, quickly flicker, when user clicks the place where they should be. The "layout editor" and "event editor" tabs are gone too. This problem seems to appear even if there are no 3d boxes at all, just changing the display settings triggers it.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Post » Tue Nov 20, 2007 4:38 pm

The value rounding is really odd, it could be the property grid library we use doing it. Not sure. Will investigate.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:09 pm

One more note: It does the rounding not only with 3d box but all values. And it does it only if the user sets the value. I rotated an object using the handle in layout editor so that its angle was a decimal number, and the numeric value in properties bar didn't get rounded.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Previous

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests