Individual Step Grid Movement

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:44 am

[quote="joeyapplepi":82q7kkrk]I too tried experimenting with what deadeye said, but I too have no idea what "overlapping at offset" means. Now I'm curious, 'cuz that could come in handy in the future.[/quote:82q7kkrk]
It's a view to the future... no really, instead of checking for a current collision, you ask if there would be a collision, if you would move the object to that offset. You get the answer before really doing it, so you can decide to move the object or not.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:30 am

Now I got it... Still wish I could make it actual movement instead of skipping along.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,086

Post » Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:40 am

Tried this yet?

Upon UP ARROW pressed: CustomMovement's Change Speed Toward Position

Or theres a Change Speed Toward Direction..alot of change speeds actually. I haven't played with the Custom Movement behavior at all so not sure if that will work as I imagine but it should.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:06 pm

That changes the speed of the movement, but the movement doesn't actually work because there are no direct movement commands. Except for the move X at Y angle, which is an instant movement.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,086

Post » Sat Mar 20, 2010 6:21 am

Playing with Custom Movement today, it was working as I thought it would, you set Change Speed to Position and the object moves toward that position (and past, though.)

For moving a for moving in a grid, I suppose you would use some other object (invisible or maybe an X marks the spot graphic)..let it jump to the place like what you're getting already. Then have your character move to that graphic.

Do you have a cap so I can see why it didn't work for you? You got me curious. :)
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:28 pm

I attempted to do that, and that would be an ideal solution, except once again it ignores solidity of objects and so there is no easy way to create a boundary to stop the movement.

I'm going to see if I can kludge together something with Overlap at Offset... but it seems odd that I have to... individual step isn't a terribly complex option. Just ignore repeated keypresses for gridmovement.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,086

Post » Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:44 pm

Here's an example using overlapping at offset:
[url:13xfvq1c]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5426011/examples/gridmovement.cap[/url:13xfvq1c]
[color=#BFBFBF:13xfvq1c]Made with 0.99.84[/color:13xfvq1c]
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,746
Reputation: 40,755

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:50 am

Holy crap, ROJO, you got me again.
That is exactly what I needed.
I was confused, I had thought that 'move vertically' and 'move horizontally' altered how FAR they move in pixels or tiles (so an isometric/scaled grid system could be used.) But I totally overlooked it.

Cheers!
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,086

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests