Insanity's Blade Green Lit! Final Release Dec 1st on Steam

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:01 am

damainman wrote:@TunaUppercut There is absolutely no reason for those bugs to be happening - it would happen on everyone if that was the case. So I'm going to go with my first guess and say the Node Webkit I did the windows build with is too old. Your computer is better than mine (video card) Cpu is the same, OS is the same, Ram is the same but I only have 8gb. So I'm going to give you this windows version I'm compiling with the r176 C2 Node Webkit. Let me know if this fixes the falling through the floor issues.

http://causalbitgames.com/demos/nope/win32.zip


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTT0pvyc99s&feature=youtu.be

No the problem still happens after the player dies.
B
10
S
3
G
1
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,390

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:17 am

I'll test it on my laptop later today for you, its a dual core with integrated Intel HD4000 (extremely weak compared to GTX460!).
B
60
S
21
G
18
Posts: 1,741
Reputation: 16,800

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:34 am

I'm thinking it's an issue with the game running too fast for you @TunaUppercut so that it's able to skip a collisions check in the physics and step past the floor, or otherwise it runs the physics many times before collisions are re-activated. Can you set the overclock on your PC manually back to the 2.7GHz level?
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:49 am

@TunaUppercut I've dumped another version of the game with the old box2d physics engine enable for you to try. Aside of that I can only try dumping the player higher off the ground so it doesn't skip the physics check.

@JayJay The overclock wont make a difference. Both my i5 and i7 are set the same way and I have a far steeper overclock on my gaming rig than TunaUppercut does too. From 2.4ghz to 3.66 or something worse. I think I can do a work around for this scenario just by spawning the player 16px higher at checkpoints.

Here is the file:
http://causalbitgames.com/demos/nope/win32.zip

If this doesn't work I'll do the -16px y drop on the spawning. Aside of that maybe pausing before the level starts to let the event sheets catch up?

Also just confirmed is the age of the cpu, not the speed that is causing the slow down. Someone with these specs runs the game perfectly:
Intel Pentium P6200 @ 2.13Ghz
4GB DDR3 Ram
Intel HD Graphics

This laptop is only 3 years old.
B
45
S
12
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,899

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:22 am

I just tested it. And the player still falls through the floor.
B
10
S
3
G
1
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,390

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:50 am

@TunaUppercut Thanks for testing for me. I'll have to write a work around for that in the morning. I may also do a web version of the demo to test in Chrome. At least we can pin point if the problem is C2 or Node Webkit that way.
B
45
S
12
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,899

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:19 am

@TunaUppercut Ok - I can't sleep thinking something is broken when I can do a work around. So I just went in and added -32px to the y pos when respawning. Watching your video shows that the player is getting ahead of the level even starting. It's usually the other way around, you here him make a fall sound before he appears. But the detection there is completely c2 collisions. The floors are solid, so when the level restarts its ignoring the collision detection for the player. Hopefully setting the y pos on respawn to be higher will fix this! Here's a build - I'm going to bed LOL!

http://causalbitgames.com/demos/nope/win32.zip
B
45
S
12
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,899

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:05 pm

I tried the new demo and the player still drops through the ground.
B
10
S
3
G
1
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,390

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:47 pm

@TunaUppercut I fixed it this time, I finally got it to happen to me. For some reason the level reset code isn't happening in order on some machines. I got it to happen on my Macbook Pro (Windows 7 and the core 2 duo is 64bit and the game is actually running smoothly) so I could see exactly what was happening and it was player respawning before the level reset which shouldn't technically happen. So I altered the camera code to fix the issue. I've just tested a bunch and uploaded. Same links as before. But yeah the player spawned into the ground despite the code telling him to spawn -32p above the check point which is players' height on ground.

I still don't get why it's not happening to everyone. But this new build should fix it, I'll test it on my mac too. I could only get it to happen in the forest as well. I go into the store and then fall into the water right afterwards and he would respawn into the ground.


***Update***
I just killed myself 10 times on the mac and it didn't happen so hopefully it's gone now!
B
45
S
12
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,899

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:05 pm

@Silverforce It seems to be if the cpu is 32-bit or 64-bit. My old core 2 duo is a 32 bit machine. My mac is a core 2 duo 64-bit and I was running the game in boot camp and it was fairly smooth. The specs are low GF9800m GT and I think it's a tad underclocked because it's old and getting over heating issues. The one thing I noticed on the older machines is when it does the garbage clean up it will stutter for a second and sometimes even pause for a few milliseconds and then continue along smoothly.

My Mac OS is outdated though so I can't run the actual mac version anymore, it starts to load and then craps out.
B
45
S
12
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,899

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests