Inserting a newline in text?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:05 pm

I see that you can insert a newline in text in Construct Classic ("Text" & NewLine & "more text") - but is there any way of doing this when using the Text object in Construct 2?
B
105
S
20
G
12
Posts: 549
Reputation: 20,320

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:01 pm

Pretty sure C2 also has "NewLine"

edit: Yep, it does.Tokinsom2011-11-24 20:02:23
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:19 am

Thanks for your confirmation that it does work, Tokinsom. That set me to figuring out why it didn't work for me.

After puzzling and playing around, I realised that I was simply entering '"Xxx" & NewLine & "Yyy"' as the text string in the Text object Properties and that whatever you enter there simply displays literally.

What I needed to do was use a 'Set text' event to display my text string and then I got my newline working.

Another beginner's lesson learnt!
B
105
S
20
G
12
Posts: 549
Reputation: 20,320


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests