Install C2 on windows 10

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:30 am

I downloaded the latest stable today, and I tried to install it.
After the window "Construct 2 appears to already be installed on this computer... Do you want uninstall the old version before continuing?" I choose "NO"
Still C2 continue installation in my previous version folder (construct2_r229), without asking me to choose a new folder...

So after install, i renamed the folder to construct2_r233 (latest stable)

I tried to install the latest beta... and same thing... construct tries to install in folder construct2_r229 without asking me to choose a folder for install...

Problem with registry?
Any hints?
B
22
S
8
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,400

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:13 pm

I ran into the same trap 5 years ago. I was used to software having multiple versions simultaneously on the same machine, and flip which version to use via an environment variable. I think C2 is not designed to work that way.
You are supposed to have one install on one machine. For a rollback you remove it and reinstall the older version. So the option you mentioned won't ever ask for an alternative location, it's just to determine if you want a "clean" reinstall or not.
B
72
S
28
G
32
Posts: 477
Reputation: 19,640

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:14 am

I always did that. I always kept one or a couple of previous stable version so as to rollback.... for like 2 years now.
And every software you install ask you to choose a folder... everyone single of them! :O
B
22
S
8
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,400

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:17 am

Btw the same happened to a friend of mine... He replied "no" for uninstalling the previous version and the install continued to the current C2 folder. This doesn"t happen for C2_r227 if i want to install it..
Maybe i should post it to the bug section?
B
22
S
8
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,400

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:36 am

if you cannot keep the previous version without the installer overriting it then I'd say it is a bug.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
52
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,093

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:12 am

For a few releases now the installer has changed indeed, and you aren't asked anymore the path where to install C2 when you already have an install on.
Anyway, it has always been recommended to uninstall the previous version when installing the new one, so keeping two releases is not considered a good practice anyway.

Now my install workflow has changed to first uninstalling C2 and then installing the new release in order to have the prompt that asks what path to install it to.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
284
S
109
G
91
Posts: 7,317
Reputation: 87,483

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:35 am

"recommended", "good practice"
.... ok mate but I have to test the betas and the latest versions to check compatibility with my plugins, behaviors. And I have to test it fast.... I cannot just switch versions like that.
So you're telling that I have to: unistall then reinstall C2...copy my plugins/behaviors, check if all is working and if not, re-uninstall the last version, reinstall the previous version I used, and copy again my plugins/behaviors instead of just install a new version and copy the plugins/behaviors?
This is not a "workflow"..... this is a tsunami :mrgreen:
B
22
S
8
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,400

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:26 pm

Uninstalling C2 won't remove your custom plugins/behaviours from that folder, only the original C2 files and plugins/behaviours.
B
122
S
41
G
40
Posts: 846
Reputation: 27,894

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:09 am

@Kyatric I don't agree, we should be able to at least have one stable and one beta separately, as it is better to share capx made with stable releases, but it is also important to test beta versions.

I don't have that issue since I have both a steam (beta) and a normal license (stable), but everyone should be able to have both options without needing all this install uninstall stuff.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
52
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,093

Post » Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:24 pm

back to this....

Today i was looking for a solution to an issue in my code, and there... there it is... a capx with something that might help.. let's download it and check the code...

Oh wait i CAN'T open it, since it was made with C236 and I can't install this BETA version it without erasing my stable version... :evil:

Is it preposterous only to me??
B
22
S
8
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,400

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests