Installing Construct onto a Flash Drive?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:25 am

I was just wondering if it were possible to install construct onto a portable storage allowing you to be able to use it without installing those directX libraries. I would like to use construct at school in my programming class but I don't have administrative privileges install those directX components.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 688

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:19 am

Sure, if you use something like this to package it all up into a standalone exe:
http://www.vmware.com/products/thinapp/

http://www.microsoft.com/systemcenter/appv/default.mspx

http://www.appzero.com/

However, if you don't have $8,000+ and don't want to use the trial then no I don't believe there is an alternative than to install it on every computer.
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:08 am

I'll try it out. What would I package into an .exe though? The DirectX files with construct? Sounds sketchy.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 688

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:48 am

The way I would do it is find what DLLs Construct needs with a program like Dependency Walker and include them in the same directory as Construct. In reality only a few of the listed DLLs need to be included as most of them come with a windows installation.

I'm also pretty sure that including the DLL files is not enough to run Construct. You may also need to add some registry keys so Construct thinks it's installed. You can get the necessary keys from a computer that you already installed Construct on by exporting the registry directory "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Construct" to a .reg file and running the file before you run Construct.

I haven't tried this myself because all my computers already have construct installed.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:08 am

Could this be a way to get around the whole needing to install direct x problem with exported games as well, or does the direct x TOS not allow it?
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:20 am

[quote="R0J0hound":2h5z3j3m]The way I would do it is find what DLLs Construct needs with a program like Dependency Walker and include them in the same directory as Construct. In reality only a few of the listed DLLs need to be included as most of them come with a windows installation.

I'm also pretty sure that including the DLL files is not enough to run Construct. You may also need to add some registry keys so Construct thinks it's installed. You can get the necessary keys from a computer that you already installed Construct on by exporting the registry directory "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Construct" to a .reg file and running the file before you run Construct.

I haven't tried this myself because all my computers already have construct installed.[/quote:2h5z3j3m]
Durrr, sorry. I forgot to mention I'm able to run construct since I got the .dll files it asked me to get, but I'm still not able to run games from it. That may have to do with the registry though.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 688

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:40 am

[quote:3eklu7rs]Could this be a way to get around the whole needing to install direct x problem with exported games as well, or does the direct x TOS not allow it?[/quote:3eklu7rs]
I think DirectX's TOS does not allow it.

[quote:3eklu7rs]I forgot to mention I'm able to run construct since I got the .dll files it asked me to get, but I'm still not able to run games from it. That may have to do with the registry though.[/quote:3eklu7rs]
If you got Construct to run by including the dll files disregard the stuff about the registry it isn't needed.
What happens when you try to run the cap? Also, can you export a project to exe?
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:45 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":2q4s55si][quote:2q4s55si]What happens when you try to run the cap? Also, can you export a project to exe?[/quote:2q4s55si][/quote:2q4s55si]
Sorry for the late replies, but when I run the cap it just asks me to install directX like normally. And I'm pretty sure I can export an .exe.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 688

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:16 pm

The preview and exported project will think the DirectX update is installed if they can find D3DX9_39.DLL in the system path or the same directory as their EXE. The preview EXE is in a hidden temp directory "C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Application Data\Scirra". Copy that dll to that directory and it should work.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:23 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":3oblpmmk]The preview and exported project will think the DirectX update is installed if they can find D3DX9_39.DLL in the system path or the same directory as their EXE. The preview EXE is in a hidden temp directory "C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Application Data\Scirra". Copy that dll to that directory and it should work.[/quote:3oblpmmk]
Alright, I'll try that out. Thanks.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 688

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests