Instance ID/NAME (Like Flash Movieclip Instance)

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat May 11, 2013 12:00 am

Hello All,

I have seen others ask this question, however I still am lost.

Rather than using -- > Pick nth instance --> number

I want to use a name just like Movieclip Instance Names in flash.
Like this --> Pick nth instance ==> box_1DrathVader2013-05-11 00:16:11
B
7
S
1
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1,729

Post » Sat May 11, 2013 12:40 am

Just use a variable. You can put what ever you like as the value, even a name.

Then at runtime if you have three instances named huey, dewey, and lewy to pick on of them just use the compare variable condition.
So if you wanted lewy you would just need to make sure that that value was a used as its variable.
You have two ways to do that.
1:Name it in the editor.
2:Name it when it is created.
The differences between the two was should be fairly obvious.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Sat May 11, 2013 1:17 am

Thanks for the help. got it. problem was, i was changing the value via add/edit rather than just click and edit. lol
Once again, thanks for taking the time to help.DrathVader2013-05-11 01:45:04
B
7
S
1
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1,729


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Braus and 14 guests