Internet Explorer 10 Has No Audio? How Do I Fix?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:18 pm

Internet Explorer 10 Has No Audio? How Do I Fix?

Hi,

My "Construct 2" video game
has no audio on Windows 8 Internet Explorer 10?
(audio works in both Google Chrome and Mozilla FireFox)

Here is the demo:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/RocksInSpace_BetaTest1/index.html

Here is the project:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/RocksInSpace_BetaTest1/RocksInSpace_BetaTest1.capx

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!

JeZ+Lee
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:25 pm

I ran console in IE10 and it shows this error:
Creating AppCache with manifest: 'http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/RocksInSpace_BetaTest1/offline.appcache'.
AppCache Fatal Error
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:09 pm

I can't release my game until audio is working in Internet Explorer.
Does anyone know how to fix this?

JeZ+Lee
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:43 pm

Hi,

I posted a bug report here:
http://www.scirra.com/forum/topic63692.html

I tried on two different desktops, same result of no audio in IE10.
Hope this can be fixed!

JeZ+Lee
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:13 am

I've yet to try Windows 8, but I know that IE10 doesn't support the Web Audio API yet. Perhaps that's your problem and you need to repack those sound files (you're probably using ogg, I'd imagine) to some other format.

Since IE10 supports neither Ogg Opus nor Ogg Vorbis and Construct2 doesn't support MP3 (for obvious reasons. Namely, asenine licensing fees), this leaves you with AAC.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:54 am

[QUOTE=Blinx123] I've yet to try Windows 8, but I know that IE10 doesn't support the Web Audio API yet. Perhaps that's your problem and you need to repack those sound files (you're probably using ogg, I'd imagine) to some other format.

Since IE10 supports neither Ogg Opus nor Ogg Vorbis and Construct2 doesn't support MP3 (for obvious reasons. Namely, asenine licensing fees), this leaves you with AAC. [/QUOTE]Hi,

When I imported WAV music/sound effects
"Construct 2" converted them to OGG and M4A files.

So there is no way to get audio working on IE10?
That sucks!

JeZ+Lee
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:10 am

M4A actually is AAC (MPEG4-AAC, that is).

Have you tried removing the ogg files?
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:13 am

You have to set the correct mime type for m4a on your server.
B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 24,990

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:51 am

[QUOTE=ramones] You have to set the correct mime type for m4a on your server.[/QUOTE]Hi,

How would I do that?
Thanks!

JeZ+Lee
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:51 am

If your server is incorrectly configured, it will not serve AppCache or .m4a files correctly, which will break both offline caching and audio in IE and Safari. This is a problem with your server and not a C2 bug. To fix it make sure .m4a serves with the MIME type audio/mp4, and .appcache serves with text/cache-manifest.
Scirra Founder
B
357
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,208

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests