IOS App Stuck at preloading

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Apr 21, 2013 9:02 pm

So everything works fine in preview but, after exporting, making it an xcode file etc, I get project running in xcode and build and run on my ipod touch 4th gen w/ IOS 6. The game worked fine before that, but I implemented audio and a loading screen to play the menu song without delay and preload some sound effects. The game will not progress past the loader layout on IOS. Here is my loader layout event sheet:

Operating system & service pack:
Windows 7 64bit

Construct 2 version:
126 64bit steam version

B
49
S
18
G
7
Posts: 429
Reputation: 8,893

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:34 am

The loader layout and preloading, from what I know, only works if you're making an HTML5 browser-based game.

In an app downloaded to your phone, there is no loading of the loader layout.
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,194

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:09 pm

[QUOTE=Excal] The loader layout and preloading, from what I know, only works if you're making an HTML5 browser-based game.

In an app downloaded to your phone, there is no loading of the loader layout.[/QUOTE]

But I do see the loader layout, it just never moves on. I made another build, without the preloading, but it still didn't move on. The event told was after one second move on to another layout.
B
49
S
18
G
7
Posts: 429
Reputation: 8,893

Post » Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:33 am

@Daspur - I had a similar problem and realized that the temporary sounds I threw in there were .ogg only. iOS and Mac OS will just ignore those files, so the preloading never actually completed. Do you have m4a's for all of your sounds as well?

@Ashley - Is there any way to test if preloading failed? It would be handy to have as an event, for situations like this.rogueNoodle2013-04-23 11:37:39
B
9
S
3
G
4
Posts: 63
Reputation: 3,083

Post » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:48 pm

[QUOTE=rogueNoodle] @Daspur - I had a similar problem and realized that the temporary sounds I threw in there were .ogg only. iOS and Mac OS will just ignore those files, so the preloading never actually completed. Do you have m4a's for all of your sounds as well?

@Ashley - Is there any way to test if preloading failed? It would be handy to have as an event, for situations like this.[/QUOTE]

I converted all my mp3s to OGGs before importing into C2, so I assume I don't. Thanks I'll try another format!
B
49
S
18
G
7
Posts: 429
Reputation: 8,893

Post » Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:12 pm

Closing since no .capx is provided so we have no way to reproduce the problem. Please follow the bug reporting guidelines.

Note if any .m4a files are missing from the project, preloading will fail. There shouldn't need to be a way to test if preloading failed, because there shouldn't be .m4a files missing from your project.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:43 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] Closing since no .capx is provided so we have no way to reproduce the problem. Please follow the bug reporting guidelines.

Note if any .m4a files are missing from the project, preloading will fail. There shouldn't need to be a way to test if preloading failed, because there shouldn't be .m4a files missing from your project.[/QUOTE]

As it is a commercial game, far in production I cannot share the capx. I do not feel invalidating peoples bug reports because they paid for and are trying to utilize your tool commercially is the appropriate way to handle things.

On another note, the lack of m4a audio was the issue. But the loader layout seems to fail on ios.
B
49
S
18
G
7
Posts: 429
Reputation: 8,893


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests