IOS sound problems since iOS 9.2

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:34 pm

Hi @gingpete sounds like the one and only. Welcome to the noise!
B
27
S
3
Posts: 154
Reputation: 1,925

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:46 pm

So I looked in to this further, and it did reproduce on an iPhone 4S, in Safari (despite the original report saying it did not happen there). So I can confirm it doesn't happen on an iPad Air 2, but does on an iPhone. That's not typical so is a bit of a surprise.

I am almost certain this is a bug in iOS itself, as I suspected. It appears it incorrectly restores the wrong sample rate on the second load. I wrote a report and filed it with Apple here: https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=154538 They typically are very slow to fix and ship bug fixes, it's taken about a year in the past. You can go ahead and tell everyone Construct 2 sucks or whatever, but it is Apple breaking your games, not us. The exact same code works in at least three other browser engines - Chrome, Firefox and Edge - so I am pretty sure there is nothing wrong with our code. So please direct your complaints to the WebKit bug report!

The good news is I found what looks like a workaround: we don't need to destroy and recreate the whole audio graph, it appears to fix it just by creating a fake audio context on startup, immediately closing it, then creating a second one and using that for the rest of the app. These kinds of workarounds can be fraught, it's really best that Apple fix it since I don't know how reliable this workaround is. But we'll ship it in the next beta release and see how that goes.
Scirra Founder
B
378
S
220
G
84
Posts: 23,868
Reputation: 188,151

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:03 pm

HI Ashley, is this something we can implement now our something we need to wait for you to do with a beta version.

thanks
B
7
Posts: 34
Reputation: 375

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:28 pm

@Ashley, thanks for that! Then let's hope that Apple will fix that quickly.
B
5
Posts: 16
Reputation: 259

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:48 pm

"So I looked in to this further, and it did reproduce on an iPhone 4S"
Well done. You find it. Applause.

"You can go ahead and tell everyone Construct 2 sucks or whatever"
It is not Construct 2 fault that Scirra Ltd support is poor and founder of the company does not listen to feedback. Not listening or does not want to hear. Each of us could calculate how much we lose our money and our time because of this.

"...but it is Apple breaking your games..."
This is also true that Apple doesn't care about us, HTML5 Developers. They want to native code in the App Store (objective-c for example).

"The exact same code works in at least three other browser engines - Chrome, Firefox and Edge"
I don't know about Edge, but Chrome and Firefox using .ogg files. Safari using .m4a files. Can not be compared.

"The good news is I found…"
Let's hope for the best. Will see.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 452

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:00 pm

@Ashley Thanks very much, really does mean allot! Hopefully this beta build has good results.
B
27
S
3
Posts: 154
Reputation: 1,925

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:24 pm

Thank you very much also. Waiting for the feedback. Hope it is fixed with the beta until apple fixes it themself.
Working on "EVERBLAST"
Image
B
30
S
6
Posts: 217
Reputation: 2,804

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:43 pm

Thanks @Ashley for looking into the Apple iOS Audio bugs! Looks like Construct 2 Release r223 has everything we need to resolve the audio bugs.
https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases/r223

This is all anyone was looking for was a work around so we can release our games for iOS.

Just tested this beta and it seems to have resolved all of the audio issues I everyone was having!

Cheers
B
9
S
2
G
5
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,546

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:04 pm

Well perhaps I am doing something wrong or missing something as I stil get no sound at all.

Browser plays sound, andriod plays sound IOS no.

I am building using intel XDK , is there anything else i need to add plugin wise to get IOS sound?

Thanks
B
7
Posts: 34
Reputation: 375

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:19 pm

Quick test, and seems like the audio bug is gone. Seems like sounds works now, at long last. Good.

However, now there is a new problem. If your application have an full screen ad and you click on it, canvas size will distorted/zooming +50%, when you go back to the application. There is nothing to do with the sounds, but relates to canvas size. This is a new "feature" that came with r223...

EDIT: Audio problem has not been solved completely.
Now it may happen that the sounds disappear completely if you switch between an application.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 452

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests