IOS sound problems since iOS 9.2

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:50 pm

@Ashley All works perfect my end. Thanks very much!

@FMFM I've not noticed this myself, though I am using chartboost

If I notice anything new I'll update, but for me this all seems fixed
Need help finding the right look for your game? I can help! hayes2D.com
B
28
S
5
Posts: 177
Reputation: 2,128

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:02 pm

@0Hayes There seems to be the iOS 8 problem. On iOS 9 sounds seems to be in order (the audio issue).

Also, before you publish your application, please check what happens when you go out of the application and goes back to your app. Canvas size is wrong.

I'm using Chartboost and Intel XDK.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 452

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:07 pm

@FMFM it appears your correct with the canvas bug. And I though we were out of the woods. It isn't the ad for me, and it didn't happen every time but when I double tap the home button to select a different app and return it sometimes bugs.

I suppose this is the issue with the fix being part of other none tested fixes. There will hopefully be a stable realise with the audio bug fix soon!
Need help finding the right look for your game? I can help! hayes2D.com
B
28
S
5
Posts: 177
Reputation: 2,128

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:14 pm

HI Guys

I am experiencing sound triggers working ok, but my game music is still silent?
All is imported ok.

Does this fix apply to both types of audio the same?
Really struggling to understand why my music track wont play on IOS?
Any file size limits?


Thanks
B
7
S
1
Posts: 34
Reputation: 525

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:22 pm

@gingpete retracting my previous statement, it doesn't sound like the same bug, it might be something your doing incorrectly your side. Have you included .m4a versions of your music? I've never run into any file size limits myself.

Also, music isn't perfect in that it will only begin playing on touch end. Consider it like queuing up the sounds with the construct 2 actions instead of it playing. There are a couple of work arounds such as playing the music silently on a loading layout first. Still experimenting on the best option, though it's also different for most games.

@Ahsley is a stable release containing this audio fix planned any time soon? Thanks for all the help!
Need help finding the right look for your game? I can help! hayes2D.com
B
28
S
5
Posts: 177
Reputation: 2,128

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:24 pm

@gingpete try to put all audio in same folder? C2 Sounds folder.
And use .m4a files for iOS.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 452

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:38 pm

Its odd, the same audio track works when its a sound, but not when its music in IOS.

Music is streaming as i understand it, so it does not have to load all the music in first?
Does it really matter if i play a background music track as a sound instead of music?

Thanks for feedback guys
B
7
S
1
Posts: 34
Reputation: 525

Post » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:23 am

Becareful when you guys put Music into sound. It loads that into memory and that leads to major memory bloat.

Music is intended to be streamed in and out, not constantly in memory like sounds are.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:41 am

Thats what i thought and why i wanted to play thetrack as music.

Should i flag this as a seperate bug then?
To recap
Same track only works on ios 9.2 as sounds not as music.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 34
Reputation: 525

Post » Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:27 am

@gingpete Yeah, it sounds like a different issue. I'd probably advise sticking it in the how to forums for now as it sounds more like something your doing wrong. If you are able to attach a .capx that demonstrates the issue I'm sure you'll get your answer!
Need help finding the right look for your game? I can help! hayes2D.com
B
28
S
5
Posts: 177
Reputation: 2,128

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest