iPhone "Full Screen"

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:02 pm

Hi ya'll

I'm playing with touch objects on my iPhone and stumbled across an issue I do not understand.

How do I build an App, that uses the whole Safari iPhone Screen Size? When I set the layout to 640x960 an do NOT enable full screen mode, I get a border I do not like.



If I set full screen mode to on, the screen size no longer seems to stay to 640x960.
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:11 pm

I am not very experienced in C2 yet but perhaps the difference between fullscreen (crop) and (scale) mode makes a difference?
B
54
S
7
G
8
Posts: 150
Reputation: 5,812

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:10 pm

[QUOTE=Weishaupt]If I set full screen mode to on, the screen size no longer seems to stay to 640x960.[/QUOTE]
What does this mean? Of course it will be bigger or are you talking about the layout being stretched/cropped ?
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 73
Reputation: 2,647

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:39 pm

You have to set the 'Fullscreen in browser' setting for the display to fill the screen, on both desktop and mobile. If it's off, Safari will display it like an ordinary web page, and it is showing it at 640x960, it's just zoomed out like it does for other web pages. Making it use a fullscreen mode avoids that.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:36 am

@Ashley - if I do this, the strange part begins. In fullscreen mode - regardless if scalled or croped - when I query WindowWidth and WindowHeight I do not get 640x960 as expected, but 320x356...why's that?

B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:03 pm

@Weishaupt - works fine on my iPad 2 running iOS 5 here. What are you running? Also, are you using scale mode or crop mode? You might only get the right value in crop mode.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:21 pm

The left half is crop, the right scaled mode. I am running iOS 5.0.1 on an iPhone 3 GS
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:07 pm

any new ideas?
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:22 pm

Apparently the height is the exact height in pixel of the white space (the "browser space" in between the two blue/purple GUI bars).
Same thing for the width. (checking from the size out of your screenshot)

It seems to display exactly the number of pixels it should.Kyatric2012-02-10 18:23:01
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:28 pm

I have exactly the same problem at IPhone and Android phones.
see my post
http://www.scirra.com/forum/display-error-in-devices_topic48469_post304374.html?KW=#304374

But in IPad and other tablets work fine.Alemar2012-02-10 22:30:42
B
31
S
6
G
3
Posts: 67
Reputation: 3,526

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: R0J0hound and 24 guests