Is Construct a fast engine?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:55 pm

Well i've expirimented with the program and attempted to create some easy danmaku patterns in order to test out the events, but it wasn't long before I hit that horrible wall that I hit in every engine i've tried so far: lag.

It seems that I can't have more than 1000 bullets onscreen at a time, but believe it or not it's so easy to go beyond that and the fps keeps flickering, actualy disrupting the pattern and changing the symmetry of the patterns. Is Construct a good idea for a touhou-like game?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 914

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:34 pm

I've spent a lot of time optimising the engine, so I would say it is very fast. The drawing of the screen is hardware accelerated (uses the GPU), and that part is basically limited by your hardware. What's your graphics card? If you have a really powerful one, you could have maybe 10,000 objects on screen and still get a decent framerate. 1000 is still a lot - if you have 32x32 textures, your graphics card is still having to push over 70 million pixels to the screen every second, assuming 75fps display - that's around 270mb of pixel data per second. Luckily graphics cards are good at just that! Also are you using pixel shaders? They can incur a large overhead for many objects.

As for events, they're not as fast since events involve more processing overhead. But it's hard to say say without knowing any more about your events. What kind of framerates, hardware, events and rendering are you using?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:51 pm

[quote="Ashley":1y8g5m56]I've spent a lot of time optimising the engine, so I would say it is very fast. The drawing of the screen is hardware accelerated (uses the GPU), and that part is basically limited by your hardware. What's your graphics card? If you have a really powerful one, you could have maybe 10,000 objects on screen and still get a decent framerate. 1000 is still a lot - if you have 32x32 textures, your graphics card is still having to push over 70 million pixels to the screen every second, assuming 75fps display - that's around 270mb of pixel data per second. Luckily graphics cards are good at just that! Also are you using pixel shaders? They can incur a large overhead for many objects.

As for events, they're not as fast since events involve more processing overhead. But it's hard to say say without knowing any more about your events. What kind of framerates, hardware, events and rendering are you using?[/quote:1y8g5m56]

Oh it could be it, for some reason I can't get my computer to lead me to the specifics again but from what I remember my graphics card is alittle outdated. But the RAM was pretty good if I remember my specs well enough.

As for the events, I had two big bullets create smaller bullets every frame, the smaller bullets having no events at all. and the pixel shaders must be working because effects work just fine.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 914

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:02 pm

Construct does all rendering on the graphics card - which generally has its own memory on-board. So I'm afraid your system RAM won't affect the rendering at all - it depends entirely on the quality of the graphics card.

Which effects are you using? If you can get away with no shaders, or only pixel shader 0.0 effects, those should be a good deal faster than 1.1 and up.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:35 pm

[quote="Ashley":1kqgyea3]Construct does all rendering on the graphics card - which generally has its own memory on-board. So I'm afraid your system RAM won't affect the rendering at all - it depends entirely on the quality of the graphics card.

Which effects are you using? If you can get away with no shaders, or only pixel shader 0.0 effects, those should be a good deal faster than 1.1 and up.[/quote:1kqgyea3]

Well bullets generally dont use effects other than transperacy values (taken from photoshop) and occasional additive blend for lasers and brighter bullets.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 914

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:37 pm

Speaking of which can I use photoshop png's with transperacy values? When I copy pasted from photoshop I had a white background so maybe I need to import/open it in the sprite editor instead of pasting but I havent tried it yet.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 914

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:20 pm

Do you really need all those objects? The particles object is much better at producing... well particles, and it seems that's kind of what your wanting. Keep in mind you cant do collision detection on the individual particles.

[quote="FancySamantha":12bfouc1]Speaking of which can I use photoshop png's with transperacy values? When I copy pasted from photoshop I had a white background so maybe I need to import/open it in the sprite editor instead of pasting but I havent tried it yet.[/quote:12bfouc1]

Um..I dont think you can paste from the clipboard. You create an object, that in turn generally opens up the editor. From there you can import your .png's, .bmp's, .tif's... pretty much everything except .gif's
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:50 pm

[quote="newt":1cqvxdt2]Do you really need all those objects?[/quote:1cqvxdt2]

I assume the goal is to make a bullet-hell shmup, in which case particles wouldn't cut it. You would need sprites for collision.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:54 pm

[quote="deadeye":3snety2g][quote="newt":3snety2g]Do you really need all those objects?[/quote:3snety2g]

I assume the goal is to make a bullet-hell shmup, in which case particles wouldn't cut it. You would need sprites for collision.[/quote:3snety2g]

Yeah, not to mention particles arent really as controllable as sprites or objects XD
B
2
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 914

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:07 pm

I think it's really fast until you go into anything effects heavy - like using canvas objects for overlay passes or motion blur or heavy pixel shaders or whatever - then it really starts to slow down.

But I'm really happy with the performance already. A typical 2d game without moBlur and heavy effects should still run nicely on most of the machines out there.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests