Is Exporting now licence only?

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:50 pm

Hi,

When I try to export, I just get a black screen with a 'make your own games with Construct2 the HTML game creator'.
What's up?

My old computer was slain by an elf.
I'm using the trial version of C2, for now.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 32
Reputation: 514

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:04 pm

"Several exporters, e.g. for mobile or desktop publishing, are unavailable"

Having looked at the list of stuff missing from the licensed version (I didn't use the free version for very long) I think it would drive me nuts. C2 is dirt cheap for what it does. (GameMaker for example, if you want to export to anything other than Windows is $550 and that's a special offer, GameSalad is $200 a year).

Some of those that claim to be 'free' aren't actually free. The business thing is also very generous, AFAICS they are identical except if you make more than $5k you have to spend another £180 or so. Which isn't a bad exchange :)

Seriously, I would give thought to buying if only for families and effects and stuff.
My tutorial through development blog is at http://myconstruct2dev.blogspot.co.uk/
B
12
S
3
Posts: 221
Reputation: 1,328

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:15 pm

I know, it's a steal. But it'll be the third time I've bought the same piece of software. I just want to show a project to somebody. I don't need mobile or desktop. (I tried desktop, and it said this option is unavailable. which makes me think that I might be just doing something wrong with my export for HTML-5. In which case, buying it again- and I will, sooner or later- won't fix the issue.)
B
7
S
1
Posts: 32
Reputation: 514

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:28 pm

Judging by the medal next to your avatar, you own a C2 license and should have all the export options. So why are you using the trial version?
If you need to get a new license because of computer issues, email [email protected] and talk to them about your situation. You shouldn't need to buy multiple copies of C2.
Be sure to check out my Metroidvania game, A Hole in the Earth
B
59
S
24
G
3
Posts: 359
Reputation: 5,683

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:30 pm

huh! Neato... I'll check it out tonight!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 32
Reputation: 514

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:32 pm

Go to the store, check your downloads, and download the license :) You should have it there.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:46 pm

The personal licence is for you as a person, as long as you remove it from your old PC you can use it on a new one.
B
59
S
21
G
9
Posts: 641
Reputation: 9,787

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:12 pm

Thanks everyone!
Yep, my old licence still counts! That's great!
...but my exported games are still not working. Now they just show a black screen-no link. I also tried this: File; New; Template : Platformer ; and then export straight away. Same same. Black screen. Any thoughts?
B
7
S
1
Posts: 32
Reputation: 514

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:16 pm

Update your computer :)
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:00 pm

Never!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 32
Reputation: 514

Next

Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest