Is it possible to get a template for the free version?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:42 pm

Can I use a template in a free version?
I'm planning on getting the full personal license soon, but that won't be a while.
(Talking about BOUGHT templates, not free ones.)
B
5
S
1
Posts: 11
Reputation: 639

Post » Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:37 pm

It depends on the template. If it were to have families, or some other non free feature then it won't work if all you have is the free version.
Each template has its own comments section, you might ask the individual template creator if it is compatible.

Obviously you would still not be able to generate revenue with the templates till you have a full license.
Image ImageImage
B
169
S
50
G
169
Posts: 8,286
Reputation: 108,216

Post » Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:46 am

newt wrote:It depends on the template. If it were to have families, or some other non free feature then it won't work if all you have is the free version.
Each template has its own comments section, you might ask the individual template creator if it is compatible.

Obviously you would still not be able to generate revenue with the templates till you have a full license.


@Newt

Not entirely true.

The free version can open and run projects that have used non free features, and also if over 100 events. The free version just cannot alter the project in any way.

So the OP could purchase a template, as perhaps a learning tool, but if they wouldn't be able to amend it if, as you say, it overstepped the free version parameters.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,386
Reputation: 58,454

Post » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:34 am

Can they export?
Image ImageImage
B
169
S
50
G
169
Posts: 8,286
Reputation: 108,216

Post » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:40 am

newt wrote:Can they export?


Nope, those options are disabled, but interesting if they can export full project via non disabled options. Makes sense they can, cause they purchased a template, makes sense they can't edit because they don't have correct license.

Pretty clever actually.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:42 am

I think Ashley is being more than accomodating with the free version - allows everyone to see what's really possible.

Anyway. Enough talk - back to Witcher 3 :)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,386
Reputation: 58,454

Post » Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:50 am

zenox98 wrote:Anyway. Enough talk - back to Witcher 3 :)


Lol, I haven't had the time :( But everyone is raving about it :roll: makes me sick
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:08 am

@DUTOIT

More of a Skyrim fan, really, but thought I'd give it a go to test the new rig I just built.

Quite like it, but still prefer Skyrim.

Anywho, just killed my first griffin :)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,386
Reputation: 58,454


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: evillair, Fradno, NumberOne, Solomon, work3 and 7 guests