Is it possible to make crosswords type of game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:41 pm

I have an idea to make a game, it would be a crosswords, everything is fine, but how do i make it work that when a player goes to one window, types a letter it shows that letter, and when he gets it to the full word. For example the word should be Game, and how do I make that if the player got it wrong it shows that it's wrong. But if he's close then it should show it's close. But if he's right then how do I show him that's right? Can you help me with that?
B
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 158

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:07 pm

up, help please.
B
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 158

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:36 pm

Usually, crossword stuff is made with arrays.

Some thoughts:
load the puzzle from a JSON file into an array
run a loop trough every letter and change e.g. the color of the letter

here is a tutorial that shows you how to load an Array from a text file (AJAX)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT84Jfz ... T&index=20

  • System > On start of layout | system > load game from slot "brain"
  • System > On load failed | system > scroll to obj_Forum
B
17
S
8
G
5
Posts: 340
Reputation: 4,707

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:40 pm

Rolax wrote:up, help please.


Please do not bump your own thread after only 20 minutes.

The users who help come from varying time zones, so it is normal to wait for 24 hours for a reply. If no response is forthcoming after 24 hours, then it is acceptable to bump your thread.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,540
Reputation: 60,424

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:11 pm

Message: Rolax can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
fm4fanAT wrote:Usually, crossword stuff is made with arrays.

Some thoughts:
load the puzzle from a JSON file into an array
run a loop trough every letter and change e.g. the color of the letter

here is a tutorial that shows you how to load an Array from a text file (AJAX)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT84Jfz ... T&index=20



Thanks,
I'll figure out how to make it work, though, i'm quite new in C2.
Any other suggestions how to make crosswords game work?
Last edited by Rolax on Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 158

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:11 pm

zenox98 wrote:
Rolax wrote:up, help please.


Please do not bump your own thread after only 20 minutes.

The users who help come from varying time zones, so it is normal to wait for 24 hours for a reply. If no response is forthcoming after 24 hours, then it is acceptable to bump your thread.


Sorry, I won't do that again.
B
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 158

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:49 pm

Regarding the crossword aspect - there is a demo of a crossword mechanic HERE.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,540
Reputation: 60,424


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dop2000 and 5 guests