Is it possible to make procedurally generated dungeons?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:59 pm

I'm making a roguelike-type of game similar to nuclear throne. Is it possible to make a system that generates areas like in nuclear throne? I have google -searched, but I didn't find anything useful...
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 2:34 pm

It's definitely possible.

I believe the method Nuclear Throne used is creating a couple 'walker' objects during generation that would move randomly through the level, carving out space. This meant that there would never be any inaccessible areas. There are a ton of other methods you could use too.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 3:25 pm

sqiddster wrote:It's definitely possible.

I believe the method Nuclear Throne used is creating a couple 'walker' objects during generation that would move randomly through the level, carving out space. This meant that there would never be any inaccessible areas. There are a ton of other methods you could use too.

Do you know if anyone has made a game using that "walker" -method in construct 2, so I could ask him how he did that?
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 3:27 pm

Image ImageImage
B
170
S
50
G
179
Posts: 8,379
Reputation: 113,427

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:33 pm

newt wrote:http://noelberry.ca/2011/04/procedural-generation-the-caves/

Thanks!
EDIT: That doesn't seem to tell me how to make it in construct 2...
Last edited by Bernie1400 on Sun May 18, 2014 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:40 pm

Coding in C2 is no different from coding with programming languages, just think of events as skinned lines of code, thus it wouldn't be much hard implementing an algorithm online, here, I found you one
B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,471

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:59 pm

I've used that method from noelberry, however my implementation was a little slow, as I used an actual object as the digger.
Ive been meaning to try it again using just logic, and skining it with the tilemap object.
Image ImageImage
B
170
S
50
G
179
Posts: 8,379
Reputation: 113,427

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 5:22 pm

Message: Bernie1400 is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
Whiteclaws wrote:Coding in C2 is no different from coding with programming languages, just think of events as skinned lines of code, thus it wouldn't be much hard implementing an algorithm online,

Thanks a lot! I'll try to mess with some events in C2 :) Seems a little bit complicated though... I'll try.
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 5:30 pm

@Bernie1400

I made the same version in Construct Classic complete with tutorial.

I've remade the basic idea in Construct 2 for you to play with.

Try it HERE

EDIT**You'll need the latest Construct 2 beta to open the file
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
46
S
23
G
7
Posts: 459
Reputation: 6,763

Post » Mon May 19, 2014 4:26 am

Minor wrote:@Bernie1400

I made the same version in Construct Classic complete with tutorial.

I've remade the basic idea in Construct 2 for you to play with.

Try it HERE

EDIT**You'll need the latest Construct 2 beta to open the file

This is great, thanks! Gotta download the beta version of C2 then. :)
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests