Is it possible to make project changes editing the runtime?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:01 pm

I wonder if is possible to edit the runtime (not minified) to change the project, in case the client doesn't want to buy the source code (CAPX with comments) but at the same time wants to have freedom to make some modifications using his own programmer. Is it possible?

I have one more question about the runtime: Is it possible to remove any reference directly to the "Construct2" (not about to the abbreviations (e.g. "c2")) in the runtime when it is not minified? I think not, but I needed to ask it.

Thanks in advance.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,006
Reputation: 8,060

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:31 pm

In theory, yes. But that would be highly un-practical. C2 is designed to program your game using the editor.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,559
Reputation: 20,732

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:43 pm

glerikud wrote:In theory, yes. But that would be highly un-practical. C2 is designed to program your game using the editor.


Thanks, @glerikud

I'm trying to sell the source code but I don't want to force him to buy it. I offered myself to make any necessary adjusts but the client don't want to be dependent on me, that is fair enough. So, I can tell him that it is possible to make only small changes or great modifications too through the runtime?

And about the Construct 2 references in the runtime code, do you know if it is possible to remove it? I don't want him to know that while we are in negotiation.
Last edited by RBuster on Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,006
Reputation: 8,060

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:42 pm

The issue here is that the runtime code is made by a program, so it is basically unreadable and designed to be modular, I don't think that would work.
B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,471

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 5:33 pm

Sorry for asking for a non-conventional subject but I really need a confirmation if is possible or not to make changes in the project through the runtime's code.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,006
Reputation: 8,060

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 7:57 am

This is why I said "in theory, yes". But that would require to rewrite almost everything (for removing references to C2). To even make changes to the game in that code, big parts have to be rewritten. Just as @Whiteclaws said it is basically unreadable. Your employer would be better off to hire you to maintain the game instead to have the in-house programmers commit suicide while tinkering with the program made code.

The short answer for your questions:
- Removing C2 references: Forget it, doesn't worth the time/effort.
- Editing the game from exported code: Nope, if they want source access, provide them the capx.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,559
Reputation: 20,732

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:25 am

Yes, it is possible.
One of solution is executing javascript code from official browser object -
1. load external javascript code ( a string ) from AJAX
2. execute javascript code by action of official browser object
3. call C2 function by
Code: Select all
c2_callFunction("name", ["param1", "param2"]);


This solution only can controls objects by official function call.
B
109
S
27
G
277
Posts: 4,482
Reputation: 154,924

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:59 am

Lots of users are worried about their projects being reverse-engineered, so the exported runtime code is designed to be as difficult to work with as possible, so making any non-trivial changes to it is probably not practical.

Minification removes all references to Construct/C2, so why not use that as your "remove references" method?
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Post » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:04 am

Ashley wrote:Lots of users are worried about their projects being reverse-engineered, so the exported runtime code is designed to be as difficult to work with as possible, so making any non-trivial changes to it is probably not practical.

Minification removes all references to Construct/C2, so why not use that as your "remove references" method?


Because they want to edit the runtime for themselves and I cannot minified it for this reason.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,006
Reputation: 8,060

Post » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:13 pm

Well, as I pointed out, that is very difficult since we've deliberately designed it to make that hard.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests