Is it worth it?

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • The past few weeks I have been working on an ambitious game based in the Star Wars universe. In the game you fight through waves of enemies, solve puzzles, exploit the force to your advantage to break walls, attack enemies, and other tasks. As the story progresses you get access to new lightsaber moves and new force powers. Later in the game you unlock your own spaceship and can travel to other planets to complete side missions. You can also upgrade your ship with new parts to fight enemies in space.

I am extremely early stages of prototyping and I got the basic movements, some lightsaber moves. As this is the first game I'm working I've been asking myself whether this gargantuan task is worth it. I'm a beginner and I can barely make my own events to work the way I want it to work. I have been always asking other people for help and it seems as they are making the game itself.

So I want to ask you should I stop and go for something simpler and easier to achieve or should I work harder and try to complete this project? As this game is early in development I'm lucky I taught about this earlier.

I need opinions from more experienced people as I can't decide myself.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I'm in a similar situation, in that I am attempting to re-create a much loved game from my youth from the AMiga days. It is a daunting task, but every time something works at it should, it's one step closer. For me, it doesn't matter how long I take to do this as it's a labour of love, in a way.

You need to ask yourself whether it's worth your time, and what you hope to get out of it. If it's just about learning and getting experience, then I bet the kind folk on here are more than happy to keep helping you.

Besides, we all love star-wars type games, so I say go for it