Is mode 7 possible?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:15 am

You sparked my interest for 5 seconds about the screenshot method until I read this comment LOL

[QUOTE=procrastinator] Yeah I was being sarcastic with the screenshots, meaning if done with the canvas object, it'd be so slow it'd be like a slideshow ;p

Well, the way I seen it done in Construct Classic was to take a sprite object and warp its vertices so it conforms to the perspective, so it looks like mode 7 ground. Pretty neat actually.[/QUOTE] retrodude2013-07-03 22:25:12
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:21 am

hahah soz!

Well, something like Outrun / Space Harrier would be possible in C2. I might have a bash over the weekend since I've practically got a fake 3D floor going, but it's a hack job. I have a better idea how to go about something like a Space Harrier floor now that I've done that.
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:25 am

Its all good man, but try to keep us posted if your able to get it working :P

I'm not working on a mode 7 game right now but I would like to know the logic of how someone goes about making one. Even games like outrun would be an awesome find for me :P

[QUOTE=procrastinator] hahah soz!

Well, something like Outrun / Space Harrier would be possible in C2. I might have a bash over the weekend since I've practically got a fake 3D floor going, but it's a hack job. I have a better idea how to go about something like a Space Harrier floor now that I've done that.[/QUOTE] retrodude2013-07-03 22:25:48
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:31 am

Yeah, in my mind it seems a simple enough task, but I know when I start that new capx ready to get at it, I'll probably crumble ;)

This may interest you
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:43 am

There an .cap is working with Mode7, isn't possible to port from CC to C2?
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,644

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:10 am

Nope because CC has displacement (modifying the vertices of a quad / sprite), whereas C2 doesn't :/
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:25 am

I DID actually come up across this a couple of hours ago and I was very happy that someone posted this :)

I may take a crack it at as well when I have time since I plan to use mode 7 in one of my future games

[QUOTE=procrastinator] Yeah, in my mind it seems a simple enough task, but I know when I start that new capx ready to get at it, I'll probably crumble ;)

This may interest you[/QUOTE] retrodude2013-07-03 22:26:36
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:42 am

What i give for a mode 7 effect.... Blarg.

B
50
S
11
G
7
Posts: 274
Reputation: 8,146

Post » Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:31 am

Procrastinator, I'd very much like to see how you would make a psuedo 3d engine. I wish you luck
B
16
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 1,285

Post » Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:26 am

Well, my pseudo 3D "engine" is nothing more than creating objects with a zPos, and scaling accordingly. I'm using the most basic 1/zPos formula to scale. 1 can be replaced by how big a sprite should be when zPos = 0.

Simple but effective ;)procrastinator2013-01-13 05:38:23
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests