Is "On Flash Ended" bugged?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:21 pm

Relevant image:



Basically what happens is, whenever the player ship collides with an asteroid, it should flash temporarily. However, the player ship turns invisible instead.

Test the problem here.

ImpulseCollision.capx
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,194

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:17 pm

The reason why I think it's bugged is because if I disable the condition 'on flash ended' then the flash seems to work just fine and the ship doesn't become permanently invisible. However, I need the actions to fire as a result of the flash being finished, not anytime before. What happens with the condition enabled is the ship just becomes invisible.
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,194

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:01 pm

I just tried to recreate this in an empty project with minimal objects/events. Turns out the 'on flash ended' condition doesn't even show up for the new project!! Definitely bugged.

My original project:



The 'new' project I was creating to reproduce this problem:



Can someone please move this to the bugs forum? Seems like something went wrong here and I can't even use the 'on flash ended' condition.Excal2013-03-18 20:02:34
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,194

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:07 pm

[QUOTE=Excal] I just tried to recreate this in an empty project with minimal objects/events. Turns out the 'on flash ended' condition doesn't even show up for the new project!! Definitely bugged.

My original project:



The 'new' project I was creating to reproduce this problem:



Can someone please move this to the bugs forum? Seems like something went wrong here and I can't even use the 'on flash ended' condition.[/QUOTE]

On the lower image you are adding condition to lower level. You usually shouldn't add a trigger (something that 'triggers' from something that happens) anywhere but top level of an event.



EDIT: Tested it, works well for me. Take the trigger event in lower level(under the playerhit condition) of your event and move it as top level event.vee412013-03-18 20:12:54
B
24
S
8
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,192

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:21 pm

Nah it's not bugged. It's just the flash will never end because you're restarting it every tick while CollidingAsteroid = 1.
B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,020

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:47 pm

OH, that makes sense! Thank you very much haha.

I didn't realize some conditions could only be applied as a sub condition.

But now I'm not sure what the best way to set the variable back to zero after it runs for the first time. Any ideas? The wait command causes the flash to wait for 1 second before starting.Excal2013-03-18 20:49:13
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,194

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:14 pm

Add a Inverted IsFlashing condition to the event so that it'll only fire if the variable is 1 and it hasn't already started flashing yet.
B
26
S
8
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,973


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: spcsmrf and 27 guests