is possible a 3d viewport like sketchfab for C3?

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:29 am

R0J0hound wrote:Here's an updated capx with obj file loading.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dbehcd1aestt0 ... .capx?dl=0

The obj files need to have triangulated faces, and uvs and normals in them as well. The texture files also should be flipped vertically.

Edit:
Another slight update: it can update the textures of tiledbg and particles as well as sprites now.



pure gold, you are amazing!!! this is really really REALLY helpful, THANKS!! @Ashley look at this!
Image

Image
B
38
S
14
G
7
Posts: 408
Reputation: 8,338

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:48 am

Truly fantastic @R0j0hound! Something like this I've been looking for for ages. I love 2D games, but sometimes you just want to have some 3D elements inline, where you're not limited to rotations only clockwise or anticlockwise. I've been playing with Q3D as well, but as you say it's quite bulky when you just want to add some simple 3D elements in a 2D world.

If you have any plan to turn this into a C2 userbase friendly plugin/behaviour I'd be happy to assist creating some assets, Icons, tutorials and whatnot. Good job R0j0.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
40
S
17
G
17
Posts: 980
Reputation: 12,632

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:55 am

it is actually pretty easy to use but some new users may need a guide,

atm im making a panning system so we can rotate the 3d objects on a more natural way.
Image

Image
B
38
S
14
G
7
Posts: 408
Reputation: 8,338

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:16 am

Yes it's quite easy to use, but it's always good to have a plugin for it so you don't have to copy the functionality from this capx into your projects.

And good to have some simple settings accessible.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
40
S
17
G
17
Posts: 980
Reputation: 12,632

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:02 am

R0J0hound wrote:It's possible in c2. The simplest way would be to find a Babylon3d or q3d example that just loads and displays a model, then just load that in the iframe plugin I'd guess. I'm refering to the actual JavaScript libraries and not the plugins.


@IJCT

I believe that Q3D was originally imagined as a 3D visualization tool for educational apps. You don't need an iframe to use it. Here are a few examples of it in action:

https://www.simbucket.com/simulation/chemthink-ionic-bonding/ (username: guest password: asdf -> try the "Ionic Bonding" tutorial)

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/earth-and-space-free/id693233408?mt=8 (@kmsravindra posted a prototype of this to the forums a few years ago -- I can't seem to find it though)
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
48
S
14
G
24
Posts: 402
Reputation: 16,652

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:03 am

R0J0hound wrote:Here's an updated capx with obj file loading.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dbehcd1aestt0 ... .capx?dl=0

The obj files need to have triangulated faces, and uvs and normals in them as well. The texture files also should be flipped vertically.

Edit:
Another slight update: it can update the textures of tiledbg and particles as well as sprites now.


Wow!!!!!

Thank you so much for this!
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
48
S
14
G
24
Posts: 402
Reputation: 16,652

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:14 pm

R0J0hound wrote:Here's an updated capx with obj file loading.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dbehcd1aestt0 ... .capx?dl=0

The obj files need to have triangulated faces, and uvs and normals in them as well. The texture files also should be flipped vertically.

Edit:
Another slight update: it can update the textures of tiledbg and particles as well as sprites now.

Awesome :D
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:29 pm

I don't have any immediate plans to make a plugin out of this as it would become a lot less flexible to work with.

Currently it's probably pretty far from a final design.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,290
Reputation: 70,991

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:46 pm

cjbruce wrote:
Ashley wrote:Having said that, we could possibly have it enabled per layer (so you could for example enable 3D on just one layer, then all 3D content has to appear on that - all other layers are still 2D and are treated as underlay/overlays). But I think it's odd to add a checkbox that says "Enable 3D" when nothing in the editor actually uses that!


@Ashley

Thank you thank you thank you for looking into this! At some point I am hoping that one of the 3D plugin developers is willing to bring C3 up to feature parity with C2 by porting their plugin over to C3. I'm excited about anything that might make this process easier/better.

Am I correct in assuming that this "3D-enabled" layer could be used to possibly eventually build a 3D editor in the layout?


A 3D viewport in C3 is already possible even if it isn't supported by the SDK, and I'm making a 3D plugin for it during the first year.
Banned User
B
17
S
7
G
23
Posts: 388
Reputation: 13,994

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:07 pm

X3M wrote:A 3D viewport in C3 is already possible even if it isn't supported by the SDK, and I'm making a 3D plugin for it during the first year.


@X3M

You rock! Thank you! :)

Are you thinking of sticking with Babylon.js?
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
48
S
14
G
24
Posts: 402
Reputation: 16,652

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest