Is there a fade audio action?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 3:42 am

I can't find one but it seems like it would be extremely useful and lend game audio a professional polish.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,964

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:51 am

Isn't it easier to edit your audio (original source) in something like Audition or Audacity to have a fade out? That's the route I would take :) Audacity is free and very usefull for this sorta stuff.
B
21
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 959

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:27 pm

scaffa wrote:Isn't it easier to edit your audio (original source) in something like Audition or Audacity to have a fade out? That's the route I would take :) Audacity is free and very usefull for this sorta stuff.


I think PSI means situations when you can't predict the length of the sound/music, for example when moving from menu to a game layout.

You can of course already code it, but I agree, it would add an easy and fast way to polish our games.
Image
B
93
S
36
G
17
Posts: 351
Reputation: 15,828

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:32 pm

Oh yeah, my bad. Didn't think of that. That would be a nice option to have.
B
21
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 959

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:50 pm

Ya, I'd appreciate that as well. Coding audio stuff can be a pain. Image
B
147
S
73
G
20
Posts: 1,785
Reputation: 22,420

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:00 pm

alspal wrote:Coding audio stuff can be a pain. Image


Hear you, currently struggling with audio myself.
Image
B
93
S
36
G
17
Posts: 351
Reputation: 15,828

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:29 pm

Fortunately, there is the rex_audio_helper plugin! It adds some extra functionality to the audio plugin, including fade in/out :)

It's made by rexrainbow, check his plugin/behavior list, there are a gazillion useful stuff that he made, the guy is awesome :)

http://c2rexplugins.weebly.com/
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
68
S
26
G
4
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 9,649

Post » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:39 pm

Or... Every tick set Master volume to Sprite.Opacity
Image
B
64
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,481
Reputation: 10,823

Post » Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:26 pm

Thanks for the input everyone.

@eli0s - thanks for the info--I just downloaded the plugin!

@korbaach - a pretty ingenious approach if one has a corresponding fade.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,964

Post » Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:47 pm

Uh...the audio plugin can adjust volume you know. Just set it to a variable and add/subtract that every tick.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests