Is there a Grab and FLING or Toss behavior?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu May 02, 2013 4:30 am

Greetings,

I'm creating a physics based game and wanted to be able to grab an object, then upon release - have the object go forth with momentum based on my drag motion.

I know there is a Grab and Drop behavior, but it just drops upon release - with no momentum.

Any way to do this?

Thanks for any help or input..
B

Post » Thu May 02, 2013 5:29 am

Try something like this

var disc.touchid = -1
var force = 200 // tinker with this to get it to feel right

onTouch disc
set disc.touchid = touch.touchid

isTouching
disc.touchid >= 0
--> disc force=distance(discxy, touchxyforid(disc.touchid))*force, disc angle = angle(discxy, touch.xyforid(disc.touchid))

onAnyEndTouch
disc.touchid = touch.touchid
--> disc.touchid = -1

B
S
G

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 7:02 am

Thanks but I'm relatively new to Construct..

What is disc.touchid? Where and how to change? What is var? declaring variable?

I understand the very basics of Events Behaviors Actions.. I understand that 'isTouching' is a behavior and know where to find that. Same with 'onAnyEndTouch'..

But everything else is vague to me as to what you are doing. 'var disc.touchid' 'var force' where to set this?

Sorry for being a noob =} Thanks for the help , I do appreciate it
B

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 9:21 am

It's funny how often this topic comes up. Here's an example that I made a while ago for someone else: example capx.
B
S
G

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 11:46 am

I wrote it like this:
On object click, lerp or set the X and Y to the mouse.
Store the current velocityX and Y of the physics object while it's being dragged.
On mouse release, set the objects new velocity x and velocity y to the variables you stored.
B
S
G

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 2:12 pm

@Geometrix
Hey, that's a great example ! But there are two problems :
- the balls goes through the green walls when speed is high and well as when it is dragged.