Is there a limit to simultaneous input?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:10 am

What I mean is, can Construct only accept a certain number of buttons being pressed at once?

My platform game has an action that requires you to be holding Shift, Left Arrow, and Up arrow. If you do it in the air, and you're still holding the Space key from jumping, it won't work -- is that because you're holding too many buttons at once? Same thing happens if you're holding all three on the ground and try to jump then -- you simply don't jump.

Maybe it's a completely different problem, since the first move seems to work fine when holding Shift/Up and Right instead of Left, and you can jump while running to the left and holding all three buttons.

In other words, I have no idea what's going on. :shock:
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:20 am

I think it depends on your keyboard and how many buttons it allows pressed at once.
B
4
S
1
G
1
Posts: 63
Reputation: 776

Post » Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:08 am

Most keyboards can't accept more than 3 buttons at once. Mine is weird, i can press 3 buttons + left, but not 3 buttons + right. Try holding 4 buttons at a time, you will probably hear a beep sound

There was once a game I was playing, where right(or left) + down + attack would shot downwards diagonaly, but it would only work to the right because of my keyboard being a douche. Man that was annoying!
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,134

Post » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:44 pm

alastair is right. How many buttons you can press depends pretty much on how your keyboards circuitboard is laid out. This is why a lot of people use X,Y or A,S as their action buttons since those keys normally are not on the same lockout circuit as the arrow keys, unlike shift, ctrl and space.
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:20 pm

Yeah, you can test itby opening anything let's you type text, andbegin holding keys one by one, until the key you press doesn't show up on screen
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:47 pm

Alright, I understand it now. Thanks for explaining it to me.

[quote="inkBot":195vwry4]alastair is right. How many buttons you can press depends pretty much on how your keyboards circuitboard is laid out. This is why a lot of people use X,Y or A,S as their action buttons since those keys normally are not on the same lockout circuit as the arrow keys, unlike shift, ctrl and space.[/quote:195vwry4]

Never woulda guessed! :P I'll start working on swapping out controls for those ones, then. Hopefully that'll sort it out.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests