Is there any way to down-scale resolution after export?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:16 pm

Hi all,

I've come to the end of a long road with my game engine and will start importing art now. So, now is the time I need to seriously wonder about screen resolutions. I've looked around and asked people, but it's generally only ever discussed about getting full-screen to work. I'm in a different boat however.

I want my game to be released as a web game, so the resolution needs to be 800 wide max to fit on most portals. But then I want to release an exe version as well with higher resolution, so it can look really nice full-screen as well.

Now as far as I understand it, I would need to make 2 versions of the game, reimporting all the assets at a smaller size for web version than exe version. And this just does not seem right. Surely there is a way to downscale the high res version when putting it on the web? Maybe something that can be changed after export?

If you have any information or ideas about this, please let me know!
B
28
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 7,007

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:45 pm

You can set the window size to not be over 800 px wide, while keeping your assets at the size you want, the exe version if I am correct, can be increased in size with the set width and set height actions, which could result in what you want.

PS:that works because C2 by default will scale up and down the graphics before rendering, so the assets quality will define the graphic quality, not the window size setting.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:01 pm

@Aphrodite but then you have the problem of the assets appearing too big in a small window. So I guess I wasn't really clear, what I need is for it to scale-down to a certain size, so all images a proportionate to the screen size.

So I'm guessing I would need to import them at a high-quality, then shrink them to fit into 800xX, then in the exe version, when it scales to fullscreen it will use the higher-end versions? Am I on the right track? Thanks for your patience, I just find it all a bit wonky.
B
28
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 7,007

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:11 pm

What I meant was fixing the size to 800xX in the project proprities beforehand, with a scaling mode (like letterbox scale, scale inner, or scale outer), so the objects will adapt to the screen size if it is different compared to the specified screen size, and using the node webkit action set width and set height at the beginning of the game, you could ensure having a different size that the one you have chosen for the web version.

The fact being that the assets themselves don't have to be changed from one version to another, just make them big enough for the exe version.

I hope I am clear enough
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:36 pm

@Aphrodite - Yeah I think I getcha, I'm just thinking that when you put the assets in at a larger size than for 800xX, you will need to shrink them after import to fit into the right size for that smaller resolution. Then it will automatically scale them up in bigger versions, adding more quality as they grow in size, up until the original import size, if I understand correctly? But then also, if I scale them down using events (which I would need to do for Spriter files), would that prevent them being scaled up in quality in higher resolutions?
B
28
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 7,007

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:21 am

I have the same issue.
My game is 1280 by 720, and if want to publish the game online the width must be 800 px.
B
60
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 9,155

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:43 am

@A0Nasser if I find an elegant solution I'll let you know, it still seems like there must be a simple way to solve the problem.
B
28
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 7,007

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:50 am

@A0Nasser I found this in the index file after export:

<!-- The canvas the project will render to. If you change its ID, don't forget to change the
ID the runtime looks for in the jQuery events above (ready() and cr_sizeCanvas()). -->
<canvas id="c2canvas" width="1600" height="900">

Maybe you could try having a play with it and see if you get any results? I'm just off to bed in a minute, so won't be able to give it a go until tomorrow.
B
28
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 7,007

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:01 am

I would make the assets on the conditions of the larger resolution and for the smaller I would probably use zoom.
I think there was a formula somewhere to make that zoom automatically.
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:35 pm

I would just do the high res version, Construct will downscale on runtime. This http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/644134 for example was done in 1024x1024, in the Newgrounds window options, I set it to 768x768, and everything downscale. Of course, my game is graphically simple, if you use pixel art for example, if you downsample you will lose a lot of detail and the graphics will look weird. For example, If you go from 1920x1080 to 860x540, each 4 pixels on the art will be 1 pixel on the screen.
If you are not using pixelart thou, go for the high res.

And sorry for my "engrish", I am from Brazil.
B
37
S
5
G
2
Posts: 46
Reputation: 3,854

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: htmlgames, R0J0hound and 10 guests