Is this a bug in construct with OR statements?

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:15 am

Confirmed this does not work as intended in v221.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pym3zfv9cu2xp ... .capx?dl=0

Image

When the second condition is disabled, or the instance variable changed to make the statement true, it works. As it stands, the text box does not change.

Edit: Also broken in v224
Mistakes were made.
B
61
S
30
G
134
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 75,448

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:17 pm

Workarround = use System > "compare 2 values" and use the expression for the instance variable.

Seems to work here.

I finaly caught up.
B
33
S
18
G
29
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 21,450

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:28 pm

Note this isn't a bug: your condition filters out all Text objects, since none of them have an instance variable that meets the condition. So the actions run since the system condition was true, but with no Text objects picked. If you add an action for another object in the event, you can see it is running.

If the text object did change to "Success!", it would mean an action ran on an object that did not meet the event's conditions!
Scirra Founder
B
415
S
248
G
92
Posts: 25,285
Reputation: 200,954

Previous

Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dop2000 and 4 guests