Is this not Possible??

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:11 pm

What do you have as a condition for that event?
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:12 pm

Ya I cant make a really tall lay out thats not very good game design cause people will learn the game and it becomes very boring fast. I have thought about making them moving but that is not very doodle jumpy lol. I cant believe that there is no way of actually doing this. Has no body made a doodle jump game with construct 2?

Can I get a response from the Makers please....from the "architect" a little matrix ref :P
B
8
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,335

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:16 pm

I just set it to every second object platform on layer 1 at (random(0,600),random (0,-30)

B
8
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,335

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:27 pm

If your blocks don't move downwards, you won't see objects with positions below 0, so you'll have to spawn it somewhere inside the layout.
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:34 pm

[QUOTE=ronval] Ya I cant make a really tall lay out thats not very good game design cause people will learn the game and it becomes very boring fast.[/QUOTE]
Not necessarily, you can still place the platforms randomly. Problem is that there will be a limit to how high you can go. I haven't played doodle jump but I just looked at a video and it seems you just keep jumping upwards forever. Anywho, I made this:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8367729/construct/example/doogleJumper.capxramones2012-05-10 23:41:16
B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,020

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:34 pm

So I cant make any endless running game or doodle jump type games then. Cause using the scrollto and unbound set to yes will cause them to always reach the end of the level????
B
8
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,335

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:37 pm

IS there any way to add to the size of the layout every second?? cause then I can use what you have made and it would be endless cause every second the layout has grown by 1024 so it would never reach the end lol
B
8
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,335

Post » Thu May 10, 2012 11:41 pm

thanks for reply guys I really appreciate it. I think we should really figure this out cause its kinda cutting down on the number of games we can make with this tool. particularly mobile phone games that seem to be endless this and endless that type of games.
B
8
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,335

Post » Fri May 11, 2012 12:38 am

Here we go. When the player gets close to the top of the layout, just move him, the platforms and everything else back down to the bottom and carry on.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8367729/construct/example/doogleJump2.capx
B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,020

Post » Fri May 11, 2012 1:04 am

HOLY S@%T!!! It actually worked hahah :) I'm so happy right now thanks a lot man. I was think of something like too but would have no idea how to do that either lol. I do find that it stutters a bit is it cause its relocating everything??
B
8
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,335

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DiabloOvermind, Skebab, spcsmrf, Yahoo [Bot] and 19 guests