Isometric RTS unit performance test

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:39 pm

@lennaert, Yes. That whole fog of war system was quite quikly slammed together and I was expecting it to be bad for performance. Also I should delete all 200 objects when FOW is disabled.

Another thing. I figured out a system where I can create the map from 2 tilemaps. So it is 2 objects instead of 10000 :)
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:00 pm

Sweet, looking forward to it, should you make it public ^_^
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:09 pm

@lennaert, Not sure do you mean that tilemap system or this test. I still try to figure out the math to translate those mouse clicks to the path finder. It is a bit more complicated now :) then I upload a new test.
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:19 pm

Okay, tested on my desktop:
3 Ghz Intel Dual Core CPU, 4GB of RAM, a brand new spaking GeForce GTX650 - relatively stable framerate, slightly above 40 all the time when all of the features are enabled, sometimes dips below 40 when moving units, however in high 50s when the fog of war is turned off. Please note that this is done in a pretty high resolution of 1600x1050!
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:25 pm

Katala, that system for the tile maps.

I currently work with a sqaure, (in paintshop) rotated 45 deg, then resized to width: 100% height: 57%

then I set snap to grid in construct 2 to half width and half height of the resulting tile, giving me a perfect snap to grid with isometic tiling by means of sprites :)

Does require me to spawn/copy all the tiles ahead in the editor though.
But works really smooth.
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:50 pm

@Stiivais, Thanks!Good to know that GTX 650 isn't enough for this game :) I already have some better solusions ready. Might have to totally redesign that FOW at some point.

@lennaert, On the layout editor that Tilemap with ID 1 is at half tile offset from 0. Layout width is 1024. It will not work for every width.

Image

Maybe not perfect but seems to work for now :)

Edit: Also CAPX here https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/104893773/C2%20examples/Draw%20Isomap%20to%202%20tilemaps.capx
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:36 pm

Updated. No more over 10000 objects!
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:06 am

In firefox I have ~5fps gain, and ~5 - 6 % less CPU usage

Chrome FPS the same, ~8 - 10% less CPU usage
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:22 pm

Yep, almost the same as lennaert. 16-20fps in Chrome when I start the game and do nothing. If I select some units - doesn't matter how many, and move them to different place fps jumps to 38-46.
B
157
S
66
G
42
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,343

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:57 pm

@lennaert, @shinkan, Did you test without fog of war. If fps is reasonable without that it would help. I can always try to make better system for that, maybe using tilemaps again. Also that is quite interesting what you said about frame rate increasing when you move them. On debug I get CPU from those unit events from about 6% to 14% when idle and on move. Also thanks again this really helps!

I guess I could start to make actual game play and see how it is in practice. 200 units is quite a lot to draw at the same time after all :)
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests