Isometric Z ordering?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jul 03, 2016 8:12 am

Hey Guys,

I'm making quite an ambitious isometric game and It's going great, but I can't seem to get the Z order to work right.
I order the objects based on a Y axis that can differ from their actual Y position in the layout due to the addition of a Z axis. This means objects that should be in front or behind a land-form end up in the wrong place sometimes. Originally I had objects and terrain split across layers but that was a lot of effort.
I've tried R0j0Hound's isometric plugin but it only works in 2:1 and only with diagonal facing blocks.

Does anyone know how I could get this sort of thing to work? I've tried so many things but I'm not that good with the more technical side of construct 2 :/ I've already got a good system for wall and floor collisions in the actual game, it's just the Z order that's the problem.

This is the capx where I was trying to workshop a good system for sorting out the objects' Z order:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/iced7fypx1mw9gl/Top%20down%20Z%20ordering.capx?dl=0
B
S

Post » Sun Jul 03, 2016 11:48 am

Did you try rexrainbow 's Z sorter ? (also takes X in acccount)
http://c2rexplugins.weebly.com/rex_zsorter.html
B
S
G

Post » Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:09 pm

Ah this looks really useful... thank you for pointing it out!
B
S

Post » Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:19 pm

The editor just had an update that adds that ability.
Just stick all objects that need to be z ordered into a family, then create a family variable, and make an every tick event that puts the family y into that variable.
Then add another action in the same event to set the z. Its under System> Sort Z order.

Last edited by newt on Mon Jul 04, 2016 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image ImageImage
B
S
G

Post » Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:42 pm

B
S
G

Post » Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:30 am

I'm still having issues. The image below is a diagram of the problem I'm facing.