Javascript error

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:04 pm

Hi, I have a bit of a trouble here...

I created and published a pair of games some time ago. They worked very nice but suddenly both stopped working and now the games crash as soon as there is a collision that triggers a sound :(

Keep in mind that those games have been online for more than one year without problems, this bug started some days ago.

I have been adviced from a user who got the game crashing as soon as he plays the game. So, to verify he is not the problem I tried by myself and got instant crash too in every browser I try ... :(

Then I tried to load the game inside Construct2 and running the layout in localhost. Then I have got this message:

"Javascript error!
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot set property 'value' of undefined http://localhost:50000/Audio_plugin.js, line 328 (col41)

This is either a bug in Construct2 or a problem in third party plugin or behavior - please report it to the developer!"


So, any idea on how to solve the situation? Keep in mind that those two games worked fine for more than one year and I have not updated them nor did anything to them so provably I'm not the only one with the same case...


Many thanks in advance,
Ignasi Vidal aka Topeich.
Ps. Just in case both games where created using Construct2 release 108.2
B
8
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 983

Post » Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:21 pm

Sounds like an error with a browser update, try it in other browsers?
B
25
S
6
G
3
Posts: 197
Reputation: 3,355

Post » Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:58 pm

Could be to do with a chrome update that breaks the audio - see this post https://www.scirra.com/forum/chrome-36-breaks-old-content-please-re-span-class-posthilit-publish_p809276?#p809276 from Ashley.

Just needs re-publishing with newer build.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
131
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,630

Post » Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:35 pm

Thanks Zenox, I have'nt found an answer so I post my own threat. After reading the post you pointed me seems that the best solution is to install a newer Construct2 version and re-publish my games...
B
8
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 983

Post » Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:30 pm

So, it works, but one of the games has some strange behaviours so it will not be as easy as to re-export again. I'll need to redo some parts of the game, hopefully it will not be hard... Thanks for the help!
B
8
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 983


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: The Mnk and 6 guests