Jump on vertically moving platforms

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:55 am

I've read this thread and looked at the examples for quite some time: http://www.scirra.com/forum/platformer-jumps-on-vertical-moving-platform_topic47845_post299944.html

I'm just not satisfied with the first example. You have to press jump once and then once you get to the edge of a platform it automatically makes you jump.

The 2nd example is much different than my game. My character's sprite images...well his feet are not a separate image from his body. So my game is able to work with either one of these.

So I am still stuck at waiting until the platform reaches the very bottom or the very top until I can successfully jump off of it. Does anyone know of a different way?

Thanks in advance
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 122
Reputation: 2,922

Post » Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:43 pm

B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,753
Reputation: 40,769

Post » Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:28 am

I like your example, but I've tried it over and over for at least 3 hours and cannot get it to work. It seems so simple, but I cannot see what I am doing wrong.

The 1 thing that I don't understand is the "pair" instance variable. How do you get it to say <varies> I have to select either 1 or 2.
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 122
Reputation: 2,922

Post » Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:33 am

hmm upload your capx and we will happy to help you... because it seems the problem isn't from the variable ^^
B
48
S
15
G
6
Posts: 795
Reputation: 12,035

Post » Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:45 am

All <varies> means is the value isn't the same for all the objects.
The "pair" variable is just used to link the platform and the dummy objects. So to make a third platform just add another platforma and dummy and set their "pair" values to 3.
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,753
Reputation: 40,769

Post » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:08 am

I finally found what I was doing wrong!

It was just a little mix up in the event sheet. I guess when you're tired and working mistakes will be made and difficult to see where th error was made.

Anyway, it works great! Thanks a lot for your example!
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 122
Reputation: 2,922

Post » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:11 pm

I spent hours trying to figure out this vertical platform jump issue.
This solution worked brilliantly, thanks for the example.   
B
6
S
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 958

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:38 am

Once I updated to the new version of Construct 2 it messed the vertical platforms up again. They are not as bad as they once were, but I was wondering if ROJOhound or anyone can tell me why and what I need to do?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ryom0vrmfg6ry9f/Jungle%20Tutorial%20%28Hulk%29.capx
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 122
Reputation: 2,922

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:48 am

C2 r100 added a fix to the platform behavior so it works with vertical moving platforms. The workaround now clashes with the platform behavior so the solution is to remove the workaround.
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,753
Reputation: 40,769

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:20 am

Oh awesome! Thanks man. I'm glad everyone here is so willingly helpful. I really appreciate it.
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 122
Reputation: 2,922

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: linkman2004, Renfd, supreme676 and 21 guests